Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe is fantastic and SO easy to make! Because it doesn't take very long to put together, I'll be making it often. As Baricat suggested, I used whole milk (instead of water) to proof my yeast and used fresh, minced garlic (3 cloves) instead of garlic powder. I had fresh basil on hand, so chopped up about 2 T. of it instead of using dried. What a difference fresh herbs make. I can't wait to try this recipe for pizza dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe. Did things a little differently. I Did proof the yeast. Only had 1 pack of yeast which said it was 1/4th of a tablespoon...so i used that yeast. Used 1 cup of bread flour and one cup of regular ( all purpose flour). Used all fresh herbs that made it taste amazing! Did not use garlic powder, i used garlic infused olive oil and some minced garlic. I shaped the dough on the cookie sheet and let it rise for 20 minutes, pressed it back down and let it rise for another 20 minutes. Baked it at 375 for 20 minutes, then put the cheese on and cooked it for another 10 minutes. Let it cool on the wire rack. Move over Panera!!! This bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth&dan
Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
pretty good..i added the chopped red onion on top and wow that made it. And yes you MUST proof your yeast first.Also doubled the salt. I am so glad that I did those changes. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Turned out pretty good for my first time making this kind of bread. It does taste very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe probably 4-5 times now and every time it is perfect! I make it to go with a great tomato-basil Parmesan soup. We dip the bread into the soup and it's fantastic! I've not needed to proof my yeast, my bread always rises fine (of course my yeast is still fairly fresh). I just make sure the water is warm when I add it. I also add extra herbs and cheese to the top, to suit my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very fast and easy. I did "proof" the yeast first, as others suggested. I have also made it eliminating the cheese on top and sprinkling kosher salt on the dough instead. Either way, it's delicious and excellent served warm and dip into olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
great bread with interesting taste, texture, and a wide variety of use possibilities. I gave the rise time more time-- about double and I sprinkled sea salt with the cheese on the top. This is a great bread for just eating or for use with any number of grilled sandwiches and I plan on trying it as a pizza crust in the future as well--- Thanks Terri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Usually when making good bread, it is kind of intimidating. Not this one. It is EASY!!! And the aroma of all of the seasonings is wonderful!!! Give it a try. Thanks so much. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I used to bake in a NJ casino for 10 years, and we always made focaccia for the restaurants. This recipe was very easy to put together. I warmed the water before I added it though because I was paranoid my yeast wouldn't rise. The only herbs I wanted in it were the garlic powder, a small amount of parmesan, and fresh rosemary from my garden. I didn't want the mozzarella. I'm sure the listed herbs are good too, but I had to have rosemary. It came out superb! I really drenched it in olive oil after to make it irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Its great simple quick and easy. I didnt have all of the spices but i had italian seasoning so i used two tablespoons of that instead. I added minced garlic after the olive oil then a sprinkling of the spices then parsarum then a small sprinkling of mozzarella. Was great love it will make it again. Oh did proof the yeast and rose very quickly and easyly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States