Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I skipped the white flour and only used whole wheat and just made them drop biscuits (easier). They aren't as pretty but taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These biscuits are Great! To make them even more health, I substituted 1/4 cup of canola oil for the butter and low-fat buttermilk for the milk. I measured the oil into a one cup size measuring cup and then filled it with buttermilk. I then added additional buttermilk 1 tablespoon at a time (about 3 T) until it was moist enough stirring only until it was mixed. Since I used buttermilk, I also added 1/2 teaspoon soda and also eliminated the sugar. They were so scrumpteous - crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. Will definitely be a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These are great biscuits. I was a little concerned with the stickiness of the dough other reviewers mentioned, so I added the milk a little at a time. I ended up using the entire cup and the dough had the perfect consistency. I can't see how the dough could be too sticky to work with unless the butter was too soft to begin with. I was very pleased with the fluffiness of these biscuits, especially since they have whole wheat flour in them. I think the key to the maintaining the light texture is to mix the dough just enough to combine. Mixing any more will toughen the biscuits up. These will be my go to biscuits from now on. They are divine when brushed with melted butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Used all whole wheat flour, added 1 tsp garlic and 3/4 c grated cheddar. I'm making these all the time now, even w/ whole wheat flour they were so light and fluffly. DO IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I used all whole wheat and uped the bakinf soda by 1 tsp. I also did not have a biscuit cuter so I used a glass, I put all the ingrediants in my food processor gor about 7 seconds and rolled it out. I do want to say haveing good cookie sheets make all the differance in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These were really great - happy to give them a 5 star rating. To make the dough, I used my food processor. This really made the job easy. I've now got a new biscuit recipe to use which I feel is healthier than my standard white biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I always try to cook with wheat , but my biscuits have always been, well, bad. However this recipe was great! I used less white flour than it called for and they were still fluffy and PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Great flavor for a whole wheat biscuit. I forgot to add the sugar but didn't miss it since it was eaten with butter and jam. I did use all whole wheat flour and upped the BP a 1/2 tsp, I also used shortning instead of the butter as it was all I had on hand. They were nice and fluffy, I was very surprised how nicely they rose. Make sure not to overwork the dough as they will become dense. I will be makeing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These were some pretty good bisquits. I used all whole wheat flour but I probably should've added more baking powder to compensate for that because they did come out fluffy but not nearly as fluffy as the pictures showed. I will definetly make these again but I will just make sure to adjust the cooking time because mine were overdone and add more salt and baking powder. All in all though these are a fantastic substitution to regular bisquits... warm them with a little sugar free jam and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Made drop biscuits with this recipe. I subbed brown rice syrup for the sugar, used all Whole wheat flour and added @ 3/4 cup organic grated cheddar and a TBspoon or so of crushed garlic. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States