Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very good taste but somehow they didn't rise much at all. I think I either shouldn't have kneaded at all or should have needed more. Will also play around with baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Made per recipe and as expected, they were nice and fluffy. I only got 10 biscuits out of the recipe and rolled and cut accordingly.Still 5 stars, they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Pretty good biscuits, just don't roll them out too thin because they don't raise a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
As some other reviewers suggested, I used all whole wheat flour and added an extra 1/2 tsp of baking powder. I also used vegetable oil instead of butter and made drop biscuits instead of rolling out the dough and using a biscuit cutter. Served warm with cherry compote, these biscuits are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Our go to recipe for biscuits. We substitute the butter for whatever fat we have on hand (lard/tallow/bacon fat/butter) - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
For a biscuit with whole wheat flour this was really good. The dough looks sticky but give it a minute and let the baking powder do its thing. Just right to pat out. I cut them at about an inch thick, maybe more next time since whole wheat flour just doesn't rise as well as white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These are really beautiful. I've made these on several occasions, with the whole wheat flour and without. You really don't much notice the whole wheat in them. They're fluffy and so wonderful with butter served with a nice stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
i used wholemeal flour, as here in Singapore it seems that wheat flour is not sold. the colour looks different but it tastes quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This has become our family favorite. A delicious flavor and texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow. These are amazing! I love love love healthy eating, but my family doesn't and they liked this recipe. It's a keeper. I did make quite a few changes though. I used all wheat flour. I used coconut sugar instead a regular sugar. I used 1/4 teaspoon sea salt instead of regular 3/4 teaspoon salt. And I used coconut oil mixed with 1/2 teaspoon of honey instead of butter. They were yummy! Using jam and honey was great. This is going in my recipe box forever, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States