Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made exactly as written and they were perfect...light, fluffy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Wray Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good recipe for whole wheat biscuits. I've made these several times because they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This recipe turned out really well for me. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I think in order to get a good size, you need to keep the dough pretty thick when you roll it out. I think that half the recipe would have been perfect for about 4 biscuits. I followed the ingredients exactly, using unsalted butter and skim milk. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I've always been a little afraid of making anything with wheat, however on my quest for a healthier carb, I discovered this recipe, and I am hooked! I love them more than any biscuits I've tasted, yet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Was pretty good. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, and 1/2 cup of malt flour. Probably does need more baking powder. Didn't rise very much. But was really good with the easy vegan gravy recipe. If they had been fluffier I would have given them 5 stars but maybe that's the best you can get with whole wheat. It is a much denser, heartier flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These weren't bad with blackberry jam, but I really wasn't too impressed with them by themselves. I used skim milk and oil instead of the butter, so that may have had something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These are 5 stars for whole wheat biscuits. They really are light and fluffy. They're not buttery and flaky, but rather hearty and filling. I'm always looking for healthy alternatives and some recipes turn out to be hard as rock and very unappetizing. These were a very nice surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
These are very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Valle Crucis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Yummy! I like to make my baking powder biscuits only using whole wheat flour, but using half all-purpose flour makes them taste much better! Try adding fresh dill weed or fresh parsley to these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have never written a review before, however, I felt compelled to write this one. I am sitting eating my fluffy w w biscuit with my homemade bourbon,vanilla peach jam and the biscuit is ok, but I can't believe that noone (on the first page anyway) has said anything about the milk!!!!! Yikes, 2 cups of flour and 1 cup of milk!!! The dough was swimming and I had to add another cup of flour, the biscuits are a little doughy still. I went to the Taste of Home actual recipe and the 1st review said "don't add the whole cup of milk, they also needed to add a cup more of flour. A few other recipes I have looked at call for 3 cups of flour & 1 cup of milk. These didn't really turn out as I had hoped with all of the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States