Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
quick and easy tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I am the cook in our private daycare center in Israel,catering for about 50 toddlers,young schoolchildren and staff. I have served these biscuits now several times,with soups,or stew,or meatballs and gravy. The kids love them, it's a never fail recipe ! I had just a little dough left over from the last batch,and no room on the baking tray,so I rolled a circle about 6 inch diameter and put it on a hot cast iron skillet,about 4 mins each side.WOW is it tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Quick, easy & tasty! I added 1&1/2 tsp garlic powder to the dry ingredients, and it gave them just the nicest flavour! Made 3 batches in an hour & they were gobbled up in no time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spring Tallant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
They were indeed fluffy, but pretty tasteless. I didn't have buttermilk and had to sub with milk+lemon juice, so maybe they are better with buttermilk. However, I know I have made tastier biscuits in the past without buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
A very forgiving recipe, as I forgot to knead it. I don't do a lot of baking, but it came out extremely soft and tasted much better than any premixed biscuits I've tried. I did end up making these as drop biscuits. A little crumbly if cutting, but I'd much rather it be crumbly compared to too firm. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguin4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great flavor and moistness. Had to add a little extra flour to get the right consistency as they were initially too sticky to form into biscuits. Dropped them on the pan and smashed with a cup and some parchment paper instead of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took some of the advice in the comments and reduced the milk to 3/4 cup, and that seemed to be the perfect amount. I also only baked them for 8 minutes since my oven always over does it. They turned out great - fluffy and delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These biscuits turned out far better than I expected. We were out of all-purpose flour so I only had 3/4 cup. To make it up, I used 1 1/4 c whole wheat flour. I doubled the amount of butter and used a whole stick instead. This was an excellent decision. Like many other reviewers stated, this is a wet dough. However, I moved forward, turned it out onto the board, sprinkled it with flour between each knead. It firmed up nicely and made gorgeous biscuits with flaky layers. Something is wrong with our oven so the bottoms were a bit dark after 10 minutes. I'd put them on a higher rack next time but I'm sure we're the only people with a 1960-something gas oven that heats 50 degrees higher than the thermostat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were so good! I did not use the all purpose flour, only white whole wheat. Instead of butter I used coconut oil and used palm sugar for the sugar. I also did the 1 tablespoon of vinegar in 1 cup milk instead of buttermilk. Like the recipe states don't over work dough. Instead of rolling dough out, I patted the dough into a square and cut bisquits into squares, they don't have to be round to be yummy and yummy they are for being whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Giving this three stars for taste & texture ~ agree with another review that I could not roll out this VERY sticky dough. Added more flour while attempting to knead & made the last biscuit the size of three due to frustration with the dough. To my surprise ~ they came out quite nicely...the sticky ones and the drier dough ones.....even the large one. Perhaps using 1 C. White Whole Wheat Flour (along with the 1 C. All-Purpose Flour) made a difference, so I will attempt another trial using 1 C. Whole Wheat Flour next time. Good next day as well ~ did not dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States