Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
A very forgiving recipe, as I forgot to knead it. I don't do a lot of baking, but it came out extremely soft and tasted much better than any premixed biscuits I've tried. I did end up making these as drop biscuits. A little crumbly if cutting, but I'd much rather it be crumbly compared to too firm. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguin4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great flavor and moistness. Had to add a little extra flour to get the right consistency as they were initially too sticky to form into biscuits. Dropped them on the pan and smashed with a cup and some parchment paper instead of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took some of the advice in the comments and reduced the milk to 3/4 cup, and that seemed to be the perfect amount. I also only baked them for 8 minutes since my oven always over does it. They turned out great - fluffy and delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These biscuits turned out far better than I expected. We were out of all-purpose flour so I only had 3/4 cup. To make it up, I used 1 1/4 c whole wheat flour. I doubled the amount of butter and used a whole stick instead. This was an excellent decision. Like many other reviewers stated, this is a wet dough. However, I moved forward, turned it out onto the board, sprinkled it with flour between each knead. It firmed up nicely and made gorgeous biscuits with flaky layers. Something is wrong with our oven so the bottoms were a bit dark after 10 minutes. I'd put them on a higher rack next time but I'm sure we're the only people with a 1960-something gas oven that heats 50 degrees higher than the thermostat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were so good! I did not use the all purpose flour, only white whole wheat. Instead of butter I used coconut oil and used palm sugar for the sugar. I also did the 1 tablespoon of vinegar in 1 cup milk instead of buttermilk. Like the recipe states don't over work dough. Instead of rolling dough out, I patted the dough into a square and cut bisquits into squares, they don't have to be round to be yummy and yummy they are for being whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Giving this three stars for taste & texture ~ agree with another review that I could not roll out this VERY sticky dough. Added more flour while attempting to knead & made the last biscuit the size of three due to frustration with the dough. To my surprise ~ they came out quite nicely...the sticky ones and the drier dough ones.....even the large one. Perhaps using 1 C. White Whole Wheat Flour (along with the 1 C. All-Purpose Flour) made a difference, so I will attempt another trial using 1 C. Whole Wheat Flour next time. Good next day as well ~ did not dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious. Made drop biscuits and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I joined here just so I could rate these. I have used lots of recipes off of here before but I LOVE this SO much. My whole family loves biscuits but I always felt horrible about all the white flour and crisco. I tried a couple others but while I liked them my husband always complained that they tasted a little too healthy. This is perfect. My husband loved it (and so did everyone else). He said he couldn't even tell the difference. The biscuits where light and fluffy and just like we love them. 10 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
No complaints! This is just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used coconut oil (refined)in place of butter and light agave syrup in place of the white sugar. Also, instead of buttermilk, I used almond milk--no flavoring. These are really great! They have a good texture and taste really wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States