Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used one cup whole wheat and one cup white wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very good recipe! Light and fluffy. I used honey instead of the sugar. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made buttermilk with 1tbsp lemon juice then fill to 1 cup milk and didn't have butter so used 2tbsp shortening and 2 tbsp margarine....puffed right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Definitely fluffy and tasty! The whole batch was gone in an hour. At first I was a little worried when I dumped the dough out to knead it and it was super liquidy....then I realized I forgot the other cup of flour. :/ Whoops. Once I added it in, they turned out great! Ha! Oh, and instead of buying buttermilk, I used the ol' tried and true 1 cup milk, 1 tbsp. white vinegar. Let it set 5 min, and it's ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Excellent!! I was a little apprehensive about trying these with only six reviews, but I'm so glad I did. They were delicate and fluffy, even better than the ones I've made in the past with all white flour. I wish I could find a 10% whole wheat biscuit recipe that produces similar results, sigh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made these with all whole wheat flour due to a friend's white flour sensitivity. They were a little flat but I think that is due to the flour change I made. Recipe worked well for me in a kitchen I wasn't familiar with. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were great! I used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup white whole wheat flour and they turned out fluffy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
On a mission to make healthier meals, I decided to try whole wheat biscuits tonight. I was to lazy to roll them out and use a cookie cutter, so I rolled everything into a log and divided into 6 equal pieces. I rolled each piece into a rough circle and baked in a ceramic pie plate. They were fantastic! It takes longer to bake this way... after 12 minutes I reduced the temperature to 350 and checked them every few minutes until they were lightly browned. I think overall they were in the oven about 20 minutes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For goodness sake, don't just dump the liquid in while making your biscuits as different humidity levels will effect how your flour absorbs the milk. I'm assuming the submitter meant the 1/2 cp to be a general guide. I whipped up half a batch in less than the time needed to gather the ingredients and use 2T less milk than called for. Just take your time and feel the dough with your hands. These were lovely and baked up beautifully. For hubby, I'll probably cut wheat flour to 1/3 cup and use a bit more white flour - but again, personally, I thought they were spectacular. Only cutters I had were 2 1/4" and 3" so I used the smaller of the two and came out with exactly 6 biscuits. Will definately make again and tysm for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
THESE ARE AMAZING!!! I AM SOOOOOOOOO GOING TO MAKE THIS AGAIN, THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States