Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made these with all whole wheat flour due to a friend's white flour sensitivity. They were a little flat but I think that is due to the flour change I made. Recipe worked well for me in a kitchen I wasn't familiar with. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were great! I used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup white whole wheat flour and they turned out fluffy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Definitely fluffy and tasty! The whole batch was gone in an hour. At first I was a little worried when I dumped the dough out to knead it and it was super liquidy....then I realized I forgot the other cup of flour. :/ Whoops. Once I added it in, they turned out great! Ha! Oh, and instead of buying buttermilk, I used the ol' tried and true 1 cup milk, 1 tbsp. white vinegar. Let it set 5 min, and it's ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe my absolute favorite! It is so versitile and the buiscuts come out flakey and taste just like buttermilk biscuits. I have made these several times and they always turn out wonderful. This is a very wet dough and I usually need to knead some flour into it. An important tip for makeing biscuits: knead the dough as little as possible! These turn out muh better when I knead the dough only a few times and pat the dough out gently with my hands to get the right thickness. They do take about 12 minutes to cook, but it depends on how thick your biscuits are. I have also tried this recipe with all white flour for picky eaters and it turns out just as good! I usually make a double batch (one whole wheat and one regular) and after I cut them out, I place them on a cookie sheet in the freezer for an hour or two, Then move them to a freezer bag. Then when I need biscuits, I just pull out a few whole wheat and a few white flour ones. I cook them as normal and I dont have to add any cooking time. They are so conventient and easy to make!!! I have also replaced the talespoon of sugar with honey and noticed no difference in taste, but though dough was a little bit wetter. These buiscuts are not sweet, so if you like sweet biscuits, add more sugar. This is definately a wonderful recipe I will kep around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used one cup whole wheat and one cup white wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
On a mission to make healthier meals, I decided to try whole wheat biscuits tonight. I was to lazy to roll them out and use a cookie cutter, so I rolled everything into a log and divided into 6 equal pieces. I rolled each piece into a rough circle and baked in a ceramic pie plate. They were fantastic! It takes longer to bake this way... after 12 minutes I reduced the temperature to 350 and checked them every few minutes until they were lightly browned. I think overall they were in the oven about 20 minutes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very good recipe! Light and fluffy. I used honey instead of the sugar. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Just made my first batch. Hubby says they taste perfect. He should know; he used to make them for bojangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I make these several times a year. I have made one major change and that is to the amount of milk used. I only use 3/4 cup and it works out well each time. 1 cup was way to sticky. I also do not use buttermilk, I use regular milk and they come out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour (pastry flour is the key ingredient), no white flour at all, barely mixed these together before I patted them into a rectangle and cut them with a knife. They rose beautifully, were tender and delicious. They were pretty bumpy on the top since I barely kneaded them and too sticky to pat down, but they were so good nobody cared. You can get away w/all whole wheat flour, but be sure it's pastry flour or they can get pretty tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States