Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour (pastry flour is the key ingredient), no white flour at all, barely mixed these together before I patted them into a rectangle and cut them with a knife. They rose beautifully, were tender and delicious. They were pretty bumpy on the top since I barely kneaded them and too sticky to pat down, but they were so good nobody cared. You can get away w/all whole wheat flour, but be sure it's pastry flour or they can get pretty tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
THESE ARE AMAZING!!! I AM SOOOOOOOOO GOING TO MAKE THIS AGAIN, THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For goodness sake, don't just dump the liquid in while making your biscuits as different humidity levels will effect how your flour absorbs the milk. I'm assuming the submitter meant the 1/2 cp to be a general guide. I whipped up half a batch in less than the time needed to gather the ingredients and use 2T less milk than called for. Just take your time and feel the dough with your hands. These were lovely and baked up beautifully. For hubby, I'll probably cut wheat flour to 1/3 cup and use a bit more white flour - but again, personally, I thought they were spectacular. Only cutters I had were 2 1/4" and 3" so I used the smaller of the two and came out with exactly 6 biscuits. Will definately make again and tysm for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
On a mission to make healthier meals, I decided to try whole wheat biscuits tonight. I was to lazy to roll them out and use a cookie cutter, so I rolled everything into a log and divided into 6 equal pieces. I rolled each piece into a rough circle and baked in a ceramic pie plate. They were fantastic! It takes longer to bake this way... after 12 minutes I reduced the temperature to 350 and checked them every few minutes until they were lightly browned. I think overall they were in the oven about 20 minutes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I definitely was not able to knead or cut these out - it was more like a batter until I added an extra 1/2 cup flour, and even then I had to make them as drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe my absolute favorite! It is so versitile and the buiscuts come out flakey and taste just like buttermilk biscuits. I have made these several times and they always turn out wonderful. This is a very wet dough and I usually need to knead some flour into it. An important tip for makeing biscuits: knead the dough as little as possible! These turn out muh better when I knead the dough only a few times and pat the dough out gently with my hands to get the right thickness. They do take about 12 minutes to cook, but it depends on how thick your biscuits are. I have also tried this recipe with all white flour for picky eaters and it turns out just as good! I usually make a double batch (one whole wheat and one regular) and after I cut them out, I place them on a cookie sheet in the freezer for an hour or two, Then move them to a freezer bag. Then when I need biscuits, I just pull out a few whole wheat and a few white flour ones. I cook them as normal and I dont have to add any cooking time. They are so conventient and easy to make!!! I have also replaced the talespoon of sugar with honey and noticed no difference in taste, but though dough was a little bit wetter. These buiscuts are not sweet, so if you like sweet biscuits, add more sugar. This is definately a wonderful recipe I will kep around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe! Just made it, and I devoured 3 biscuits with jam myself! We don't use a lot of dairy, so I used soy milk in place of the buttermilk, and they still came out very tasty. They were very tender and fluffy, but also a little flat. I think when I make them again, I will roll them out thicker, maybe double the recipe to make a dozen. I don't know if they came out flat because of the altitude, we are at 7,000 feet elevation. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelfweber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The dough for this recipe comes together so quickly and I love that it's half whole wheat, half white flour. A nice treat on a Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were great! I made them just as the recipe directed. I will keep this repipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These biscuits are the BEST ever! The texture is perfect and the taste is beyond anything I expected containing whole wheat flour. For those looking to include whole grains, this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States