Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I used just whole wheat flour, can't stand all purpose flour. When I was reading the recipe and noticed what I thought called for 4 teaspoons of baking soda, I thought it sounded like a little much, but rolled with it. Should have went with my instinct, they felt almost fizzy on my tongue. THEN I went back and saw that it said baking POWDER! I felt so stupid. They weren't terrible, just....fizzy and weird. HA! So, don't do what I did. I will have to try this again, and do it correctly. >_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delicious! Great recipe! I just made my first batch about two hours ago. I didn't use the salt and they were very good. I really had a burning taste for some homemade biscuits so I went online and found this recipe. I'm glad I did! My Husband loved the taste. I will make more before the week is out. They did come out a little flat, but that was all good.--Butter Pecan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Awesome! I can't make biscuits, at least I couldn't until now. Mine were always hard like hockey pucks, but these rose up fluffy & flakey. It's my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Nall Matson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I make these several times a year. I have made one major change and that is to the amount of milk used. I only use 3/4 cup and it works out well each time. 1 cup was way to sticky. I also do not use buttermilk, I use regular milk and they come out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Just made my first batch. Hubby says they taste perfect. He should know; he used to make them for bojangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour (pastry flour is the key ingredient), no white flour at all, barely mixed these together before I patted them into a rectangle and cut them with a knife. They rose beautifully, were tender and delicious. They were pretty bumpy on the top since I barely kneaded them and too sticky to pat down, but they were so good nobody cared. You can get away w/all whole wheat flour, but be sure it's pastry flour or they can get pretty tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
THESE ARE AMAZING!!! I AM SOOOOOOOOO GOING TO MAKE THIS AGAIN, THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For goodness sake, don't just dump the liquid in while making your biscuits as different humidity levels will effect how your flour absorbs the milk. I'm assuming the submitter meant the 1/2 cp to be a general guide. I whipped up half a batch in less than the time needed to gather the ingredients and use 2T less milk than called for. Just take your time and feel the dough with your hands. These were lovely and baked up beautifully. For hubby, I'll probably cut wheat flour to 1/3 cup and use a bit more white flour - but again, personally, I thought they were spectacular. Only cutters I had were 2 1/4" and 3" so I used the smaller of the two and came out with exactly 6 biscuits. Will definately make again and tysm for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
On a mission to make healthier meals, I decided to try whole wheat biscuits tonight. I was to lazy to roll them out and use a cookie cutter, so I rolled everything into a log and divided into 6 equal pieces. I rolled each piece into a rough circle and baked in a ceramic pie plate. They were fantastic! It takes longer to bake this way... after 12 minutes I reduced the temperature to 350 and checked them every few minutes until they were lightly browned. I think overall they were in the oven about 20 minutes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I definitely was not able to knead or cut these out - it was more like a batter until I added an extra 1/2 cup flour, and even then I had to make them as drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States