Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
On a mission to make healthier meals, I decided to try whole wheat biscuits tonight. I was to lazy to roll them out and use a cookie cutter, so I rolled everything into a log and divided into 6 equal pieces. I rolled each piece into a rough circle and baked in a ceramic pie plate. They were fantastic! It takes longer to bake this way... after 12 minutes I reduced the temperature to 350 and checked them every few minutes until they were lightly browned. I think overall they were in the oven about 20 minutes. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I definitely was not able to knead or cut these out - it was more like a batter until I added an extra 1/2 cup flour, and even then I had to make them as drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe my absolute favorite! It is so versitile and the buiscuts come out flakey and taste just like buttermilk biscuits. I have made these several times and they always turn out wonderful. This is a very wet dough and I usually need to knead some flour into it. An important tip for makeing biscuits: knead the dough as little as possible! These turn out muh better when I knead the dough only a few times and pat the dough out gently with my hands to get the right thickness. They do take about 12 minutes to cook, but it depends on how thick your biscuits are. I have also tried this recipe with all white flour for picky eaters and it turns out just as good! I usually make a double batch (one whole wheat and one regular) and after I cut them out, I place them on a cookie sheet in the freezer for an hour or two, Then move them to a freezer bag. Then when I need biscuits, I just pull out a few whole wheat and a few white flour ones. I cook them as normal and I dont have to add any cooking time. They are so conventient and easy to make!!! I have also replaced the talespoon of sugar with honey and noticed no difference in taste, but though dough was a little bit wetter. These buiscuts are not sweet, so if you like sweet biscuits, add more sugar. This is definately a wonderful recipe I will kep around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe! Just made it, and I devoured 3 biscuits with jam myself! We don't use a lot of dairy, so I used soy milk in place of the buttermilk, and they still came out very tasty. They were very tender and fluffy, but also a little flat. I think when I make them again, I will roll them out thicker, maybe double the recipe to make a dozen. I don't know if they came out flat because of the altitude, we are at 7,000 feet elevation. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelfweber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The dough for this recipe comes together so quickly and I love that it's half whole wheat, half white flour. A nice treat on a Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were great! I made them just as the recipe directed. I will keep this repipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These biscuits are the BEST ever! The texture is perfect and the taste is beyond anything I expected containing whole wheat flour. For those looking to include whole grains, this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aljeromeh
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used Pinerygirl's suggestion and substituted honey for sugar. came out tasting kinda bland but still very good. spread honey butter on the tops and that boosted the taste. Biscuits came out fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aljeromeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Really good biscuits! can't stop eating them...I made them to go with stew and used the left over dough as dumplings, just dropped pieces in the broth and let them sit...mmmm! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The dough was too sticky to work with w/o lots of extra dough working flour. Sub-ed honey for white sugar. Used a smaller cookie cutter and made mini biscuits! Very cute! Think this is a very good basic biscuit recipe! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States