Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Turned out great for me and my family approved. No cutter so we always have square biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
These biscuits are absolutely delicious! I have never made a biscuit that had whole wheat in it. I also liked that these were made with butter over shortening and only 4 tblsp of fat. I made a mock buttermilk with 2% milk and about a 1/2 tsp. of so of vinegar. For the whole wheat I used Gold Medal white whole wheat flour (a lighter tasting whole wheat made with a lighter colored grain). The batter looked a little wet so I stirred in a scoop, maybe a 1/2 cup or so of AP flour extra. I lined my square baking pan with heavy duty foil, sprayed it with Bakers Joy, and patted the dough into a nice even square. I gently cut the square in half, each half in half, then cut across the other way into 3 (to get a total of 12 biscuits). Found square biscuits were so much easier than round ones which are messy and over-work the dough. I think they are softer this way too, because the biscuits are kept together. I believe I got this method from AR Kentucky Biscuits. It worked great with these too. I will definitely make these again, they tasted like a really good thick very soft biscuit. Baking time was 17-18 minutes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
quick and easy tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I am the cook in our private daycare center in Israel,catering for about 50 toddlers,young schoolchildren and staff. I have served these biscuits now several times,with soups,or stew,or meatballs and gravy. The kids love them, it's a never fail recipe ! I had just a little dough left over from the last batch,and no room on the baking tray,so I rolled a circle about 6 inch diameter and put it on a hot cast iron skillet,about 4 mins each side.WOW is it tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Quick, easy & tasty! I added 1&1/2 tsp garlic powder to the dry ingredients, and it gave them just the nicest flavour! Made 3 batches in an hour & they were gobbled up in no time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spring Tallant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
They were indeed fluffy, but pretty tasteless. I didn't have buttermilk and had to sub with milk+lemon juice, so maybe they are better with buttermilk. However, I know I have made tastier biscuits in the past without buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
A very forgiving recipe, as I forgot to knead it. I don't do a lot of baking, but it came out extremely soft and tasted much better than any premixed biscuits I've tried. I did end up making these as drop biscuits. A little crumbly if cutting, but I'd much rather it be crumbly compared to too firm. Overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguin4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great flavor and moistness. Had to add a little extra flour to get the right consistency as they were initially too sticky to form into biscuits. Dropped them on the pan and smashed with a cup and some parchment paper instead of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I took some of the advice in the comments and reduced the milk to 3/4 cup, and that seemed to be the perfect amount. I also only baked them for 8 minutes since my oven always over does it. They turned out great - fluffy and delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These biscuits turned out far better than I expected. We were out of all-purpose flour so I only had 3/4 cup. To make it up, I used 1 1/4 c whole wheat flour. I doubled the amount of butter and used a whole stick instead. This was an excellent decision. Like many other reviewers stated, this is a wet dough. However, I moved forward, turned it out onto the board, sprinkled it with flour between each knead. It firmed up nicely and made gorgeous biscuits with flaky layers. Something is wrong with our oven so the bottoms were a bit dark after 10 minutes. I'd put them on a higher rack next time but I'm sure we're the only people with a 1960-something gas oven that heats 50 degrees higher than the thermostat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States