Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were so good! I did not use the all purpose flour, only white whole wheat. Instead of butter I used coconut oil and used palm sugar for the sugar. I also did the 1 teaspoon of vinegar in 1 cup milk instead of buttermilk. Like the recipe states don't over work dough. Instead of rolling dough out, I patted the dough into a square and cut bisquits into squares, they don't have to be round to be yummy and yummy they are for being whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Giving this three stars for taste & texture ~ agree with another review that I could not roll out this VERY sticky dough. Added more flour while attempting to knead & made the last biscuit the size of three due to frustration with the dough. To my surprise ~ they came out quite nicely...the sticky ones and the drier dough ones.....even the large one. Perhaps using 1 C. White Whole Wheat Flour (along with the 1 C. All-Purpose Flour) made a difference, so I will attempt another trial using 1 C. Whole Wheat Flour next time. Good next day as well ~ did not dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Delicious. Made drop biscuits and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I joined here just so I could rate these. I have used lots of recipes off of here before but I LOVE this SO much. My whole family loves biscuits but I always felt horrible about all the white flour and crisco. I tried a couple others but while I liked them my husband always complained that they tasted a little too healthy. This is perfect. My husband loved it (and so did everyone else). He said he couldn't even tell the difference. The biscuits where light and fluffy and just like we love them. 10 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
No complaints! This is just what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used coconut oil (refined)in place of butter and light agave syrup in place of the white sugar. Also, instead of buttermilk, I used almond milk--no flavoring. These are really great! They have a good texture and taste really wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
They tasted great but for some reason mine turned out flat. I will make again sometime to see what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I kept the biscuits in the oven too long so they were dry when I took them out. Next time I'll keep in the oven for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Hubby loved these for biscuits and gravy, I didn't think they held together very well. The flavor was a bit lacking but they worked for what we needed. I might want to change something, not sure what, for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
soo good! i used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white and plain whole wheat. i also used 1/4 of olive oil instead of butter. came out flat but soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaHarris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States