Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Miss Niecy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
yes!!! this is a wonderful frosting...soon to become one of my staples. When coloring, it comes out with a beautiful shine. For me, i had no cream of tartar so i used a pinch of salt in my egg whites and let it sit in them before i whipped them. The salt or cream of tartar helps to denature the egg whites so you get a better, fluffier result! PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Niecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This frosting tastes like marshmallows, has a beautiful shine, and holds its shape well. I beat the egg whites in my kitchenaid until stiff before I began cooking the sugar and water. I rewhipped for a few seconds before adding the sugar mixture, and whipped while pouring it in. Don't stop whipping until the frosting becomes glossy/shiny. The sugar/water mixture never became clear for me, but I poured it in anyway. I added a teaspoon of lemon juice to the sugar water just to make sure it wouldn't crystallize. It was delicious with Wacky Cake VIII, for a great layered birthday cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This is a perfect frosting for cupcakes-you can color it any color, then just dip the cupcakes in the bowl to frost them (you don't even need a knife!) Since it contains egg whites, it will dry out and become meringue-like if left uncovered. Keep the cake or cupcakes tightly covered and they should stay moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Absolutely perfect! I had a craving for Wacky Cake and was tired of my usual powdered sugar icing so I tried this instead. I wasn't sure if the cream of tartar in my cupboard was still good but it worked. As other reviewers have said, this recipe makes plenty of light, fluffy, glossy, easy to spread frosting with a nice marshmallow flavor. With an egg white frosting, the key is to have a clean bowl and beaters without a speck of yolk. I don't yet own a stand mixer so I spent several minutes on it with my hand mixer but the results were worth it. My 8 year old daughter helped with it too. Why bother with store bought icing when you can make your own so easily? I can see lots of variations with this basic recipe too, as others have mentioned, with different extracts and using food color to tint. Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I liked this recipe. It turns out really pretty. It's very white and smooth. I liked the taste of it, it is not too sweet, but my kids didn't. I had them try it before I put it on my son's birthday cake. They didn't like it at all. I used a tip from another review and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract. They would eat it then. I actually like it better with the almond extract too. The 1/4 tsp adds just a hint of almond. I would add more if you are a big almond fan. I liked just the hint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Yummy... just what I was looking for! Took a little extra effort than other frostings, but mostly just time waiting to whip enough. Not difficult... but just the fluffy, tasty frosting for my chocolate cake. Be sure to be patient boiling the sugar though. After a few minutes of boiling, little bubbles will appear on the surface. Don't take it off too soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was a successful recipe for me. I made 2-9" rounds of the Black Chocolate Cake (available on this site) and needed something as a filling between the two layers. I used half this recipe and the result looked like a big Oreo cookie-really cute! The key to turning eggwhites into stiff peaks is an impeccably clean mixing bowl and beaters (no fat should remain) and a good electric mixer. My KitchenAid stand mixer with the whisk produced the stiff peaks with no problems and the icing was nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This review is for 'ALL' of the people who say that they can't get this recipe to work. I have been using a this recipe for over 40 years, and it is a beautiful frosting. It is great on all cakes, and it is soooooooo gooood!!!!!!!!! The only way to make this fail is: not cooking your sugar mixture long enough. You need to cook it until it spins a 3 to 4 inch thread, and once it starts coiling, do not stir it, and when it has cooked long enough, pour it into the stiffly beaten egg whites (while you are beating them) in a thin steady stream, and then continue to beat the frosting on high until glossy. TIP: For those who do not know about the 'spin a thread' test, just cook this for 7 minutes. That is the name of the recipe I have used forever...."Seven Minute Frosting", and it is exactly like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheerful_mama
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This frosting is just what i wanted. It has the right sweetness and it looks shiny and fluffy. I used this frosting with a piping bag to decorate 18 chocolate cupcakes. This is truly a heavenly frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheerful_mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcey55
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was really good! I used it as frosting for ice cream cone cupcakes (cupcakes baked in actual ice cream cone cups). It was very light and airy, shiny, and marshmallowy. I followed the recipe exactly and made sure to whip it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcey55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States