Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I tried this for whoopie cakes made with sugar cookies for my sons class at preschool. I wanted something sweet but mild flavored that the kids would like. I dont know if I did something wrong, but my icing ended up having this rancid lemon taste behind it. It was the consistency of whipped cream right after making it, and I was afraid it would be too light to hold up to the weight of being sandwiched to cookies. I could have let it chill overnight and see how it thickened up, but since it had the weird lemon flavor (btw that is the cream of tartar because i tasted that with my finger to see where i went wrong) I decided to whip in 1 cup of powdered sugar. That masked the lemon taste and made it significantly thicker, but the flavor just wasn't that good. It does taste pretty true to a "marshmallow icing" but I feel like it just has no real taste...maybe I could add more sugar? I just don't think I will make this again. It might be just preference, but either something was wrong with my cream of tartar or this recipe would have been inedible for me without the added powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This frosting is so good, soft, and fluffy! It tastes like marshmallows. I wanted enough to frost 24 cupcakes. This recipe has 12 servings, so I wanted to at least double it. I ended up tripling it to make sure I had enough, and that was a big mistake! I had so much frosting, that it was at the top of my mixing bowl! I was taking some of it out to be able to whip the rest. It was a big mess. I'm assuming it was because I had such a full bowl that I couldn't get stiff peaks. I whipped and whipped that sucker, but I never got more than soft peaks. After about 20 minutes of beating, I worried the egg whites would separate, so I just called it good. The frosting was still delicious and held its shape somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Like melted marshmallows. Heavy and gooey. Kids thought it was good. Just okay. Depends what you put it on I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
So fun! light & fluffy. goes perfect with crushed candy cane sprinkles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
SOOO delicious!!! Tastes just like marshmallows! Perfect topping for my peppermint hot chocolate cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Standard recipe for Italian meringue aka marshmallow frosting. The sugar-water mixture should be at soft ball stage or just below before you add it to the egg whites. You don't need cream of tartar unless you're planning to frost your creations days ahead of time (cream of tartar increases stability).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. I was looking for a quick and easy frosting recipe and I sure found it! It's the perfect consistency and you can color it any color you want with just a little food coloring. It had a wonderful flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Added a little almond extract with the vanilla and followed the directions. Worked wonderfully! Have a delicious bright white frosting for my diet soda cake. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Honor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I was in a hurry to find a simple icing recipe since someone ate all the icing I had purchased for my cake. This one was simple and I had all but the cream of tartar. I saw the review by Miss Niecy and used her salt method and it turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Tastes like marshmallow fluff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States