Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe was perfect. It certainly is a workout to whip for 15-20 minutes total but WORTH IT! You just have to WHIP it not just plain mix it. So delicious, fluffy, shiny and white. At first it's off-white but it comes out pure in the end. It is very lightweight. It takes a bit like marshmallows. Maybe it needs more vanilla? Also it bulks up--your ingredients seem to triple in volume at least, so this recipe goes a long way. This is my first time making icing ever. Also it blends easily with food coloring and pipes easy onto cookies and cakes. I've made whole rainbows of artwork already and I have a ton of icing left so I'm about to bake a cake. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor White
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was an amazing frosting! It was light and fluffy and tasted like marshmallows or divinity. I tried it the first time with powdered sugar and it never whipped, but once I used the correct sugar it came out perfect. It looks really nice when frosted because it is smooth and has a subtle shine. Over all I really, really liked this recipe and will definitively we using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
tried this recipe and it looked wonderful on my chocolate cake! this is a must try frosting! and i agree with others, it holds the shape very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I had already used canned white frosting in between layers of a three layer 9 inch round cake and planned on using some canned strawberry frosting for a pink cake. I changed my mind immediately after tasting it...yuck!!! So, not enough butter for buttercream led me to this. I followed this recipe with the addition of a bit of lemon to the sugar syrup. Boiled for nearly 7 minutes. Added a touch of almond and a few drops of coloring. It did take a while to reform the stiff peaks after adding the syrup. But they did peak in my stainless steel bowl and Kitchen Aid mixer...VERY well (probably after 7 minutes; but I went ahead and continued for 10 minutes). The frosting was very stiff and so pretty. Easy to spread, but I wouldn't wait long) I am not a talented cake decorator, but I could make this frosting smooth on the top (well...smooth enough for my purposes...not wedding cake smooth) Made enough for the outside and would have probably been enough for in between the layers as well. Lovely little cake. Simple to make. Mine had a tiny bit of tartness (b/c of the lemon I suppose)and was light and not-so-sweet. I covered and put it in the fridge for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've been looking for a Twinkie filling, and this is it. Could use a little more flavor. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this yesterday... it was FABULOUS!!! A majority of the 7 minute frosting recipes had you cook the eggs, causing the eggs to literally be FRIED! I wil make this a lot more!!I made a coconut cake and used this for the frosting.. everyone loved it. Will also be using this for my butter cakes, chocolate cakes, etc. Thanks a bunch, Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i loved it i am only 13 and made this with ease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
LOVE THIS!!! I used this to make a friend's birthday cake and it was a HUGE success. She loves oreos and it was the perfect compliment to the Oreo cookies that decorated the cake. This is a keeper. The only thing I wish was in the recipe was a note about, YES, you add the hot, bubbly sugar to the eggs. I read multiple reviews to try and figure it out with no luck. I just crossed my fingers and it worked. And, yes, the sugar needs to boil for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love it! So easy and simple to make. taste like marshmallows, great on chocolate cake. I was getting tired of using butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States