Fluffy White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I had already used canned white frosting in between layers of a three layer 9 inch round cake and planned on using some canned strawberry frosting for a pink cake. I changed my mind immediately after tasting it...yuck!!! So, not enough butter for buttercream led me to this. I followed this recipe with the addition of a bit of lemon to the sugar syrup. Boiled for nearly 7 minutes. Added a touch of almond and a few drops of coloring. It did take a while to reform the stiff peaks after adding the syrup. But they did peak in my stainless steel bowl and Kitchen Aid mixer...VERY well (probably after 7 minutes; but I went ahead and continued for 10 minutes). The frosting was very stiff and so pretty. Easy to spread, but I wouldn't wait long) I am not a talented cake decorator, but I could make this frosting smooth on the top (well...smooth enough for my purposes...not wedding cake smooth) Made enough for the outside and would have probably been enough for in between the layers as well. Lovely little cake. Simple to make. Mine had a tiny bit of tartness (b/c of the lemon I suppose)and was light and not-so-sweet. I covered and put it in the fridge for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've been looking for a Twinkie filling, and this is it. Could use a little more flavor. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this yesterday... it was FABULOUS!!! A majority of the 7 minute frosting recipes had you cook the eggs, causing the eggs to literally be FRIED! I wil make this a lot more!!I made a coconut cake and used this for the frosting.. everyone loved it. Will also be using this for my butter cakes, chocolate cakes, etc. Thanks a bunch, Vickie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i loved it i am only 13 and made this with ease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
LOVE THIS!!! I used this to make a friend's birthday cake and it was a HUGE success. She loves oreos and it was the perfect compliment to the Oreo cookies that decorated the cake. This is a keeper. The only thing I wish was in the recipe was a note about, YES, you add the hot, bubbly sugar to the eggs. I read multiple reviews to try and figure it out with no luck. I just crossed my fingers and it worked. And, yes, the sugar needs to boil for 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Love it! So easy and simple to make. taste like marshmallows, great on chocolate cake. I was getting tired of using butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
love this frosting. Its not stiff, and is very marshmallowy. I would not put it on a cake that was not going to be eaten within a couple of days because it gets very sticky. We made a five layer rainbow cake and it was just perfect. My three year old and my MIL both liked it equally well. Definitely a keeper. I I like it more than the powdered sugar butter alternatives but I would have a hard time decorating with it. Would be lovely for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe saved me when I discovered at the last minute that my mixer beaters hadn't survived a move. Buttercream was therefore out, but hand-beaten egg whites were perfectly fine for this recipe. It'll take longer, so make the sugar syrup after the whites are done - stir sugar and water together (per another review, I left out the cream of tartar and instead put a pinch of salt in the whites before beating), then heat without stirring until a candy thermometer reads around 235F. Pour slowly (against the side of the bowl) into whites while stirring. Continue to beat until desired consistency is obtained. Marshmallowy, delicious, and still soft and good a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
lovely and quite easy to make, followed instructions and no problems with the icing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Lovely taste and texture. Not too sweet. I made this with a recipe on this site called Apple White Cake. The kids could taste the egg a little, but weren't too concerned about it, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States