Fluffy White Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
OMG this is the best cake filling ever!!! Hello... I have to admit that I must have read the 1/2 cup sugar about four times before actually trusting it (because I thought it was calling for confectioner's sugar) but I went ahead with the white sugar we use daily and hoped for the best, BUT the key here to remember is To cream your butter for five (5) minutes, then when you add the sugar and shortening and evaporated milk FOR ANOTHER FIVE MINUTES, LADIES AND GENTS THIS HERE IS THE KEY TO THIS MOST PHENOMENAL cake filling. This is not explained in the short recipe but the key to your success in making this frosting that people will indeed rave about! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tried this with powdered sugar because I used it on the top of the cake. It was a little runny, but the evaporated milk gives it a yummy richness. Will play around with the powdered sugar and milk amounts to get it just right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but twice I've followed this recipe perfectly and I can't seem to get the consistency right, after whipping for over an hr it still had the consistency of well whipped ice cream, please someone tell me ehat I could be doinf wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I got this recipe from my grandmother, but we don't use it as a filling; we use it as frosting. You have to beat this for a long time or else it will be grainy. If you use unsalted butter, throw in a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was anything but light and fluffy...more like heavy and lipidy.....My testers, and myself, felt it was very heavy and over powered the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 2 more cups of icing sugar, improved the taste, then I add cocoa powder and it was perfect for the chocolate cake I made. NICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used icing sugar, as the other reviewers said it was grainy with white sugar. Took a while to get fluffy, but once it did, it was good. (It WILL look gross for a while, during mixing). Not a strong flavour-will maybe try more vanilla, or try almond extract next time. Overall, a good filling...as long as you don't use white sugar. Next time I will add cocoa powder, to try it as chocolate filling. UPDATE: I tried to make chocolate filling, following the instructions, but adding 1/4 C. Cocoa Powder (Along with the Icing Sugar), and substituting Chocolate Milk for the Evaporated Milk....and what a waste of ingredients!!!! It would only separate...it wouldn't come together at all!!! It slid right off the beaters. Disgusting!! Will never make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This icing recipe is marginal at best. The taste of shortening was overwhelmingly strong in the final product. I attempted to rectify this by adding more sugar, but it didn't seem to make a dfference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sansoucie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I didn't want to rate this seeing as a changed it too much but wanted to share my experience. Since so many complained of the shortening taste I chose increase the butter and decrease the shortening to about a 65/35 ratio as opposed to 50/50. I also used regular sugar which I turned into powder in my mini processor because I wanted the sweetness but not the grainyness. Excellent vanilla is important and I used the white kind which gave me pure white filling. I had some open evaporated milk in the fridge which I think was to old so I used vanilla flavored coffee cream because I didn't want to use milk and that's all I had. The end result was quite nice and I used it to pipe into the center of my blond two bite brownies which sank in the center while cooling. So thanks for the starter recipe. **Update:I made this again and used the evaporated milk called for and I hated it. The flavor from t he evap. milk was overpowering and it made the whole thing very smooth a creamy but not in a good way. I seemed to bring out the greasy shortening taste. I have since lowered my rating from a 4 to a 2 star recipe. Stick to sweetened cream and maybe that will work like the coffee cream did for me the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great, I was worried about the granulated sugar being grainy but after the filling sat for a day it was smooth. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States