Fluffy White Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Tried this with powdered sugar because I used it on the top of the cake. It was a little runny, but the evaporated milk gives it a yummy richness. Will play around with the powdered sugar and milk amounts to get it just right. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but twice I've followed this recipe perfectly and I can't seem to get the consistency right, after whipping for over an hr it still had the consistency of well whipped ice cream, please someone tell me ehat I could be doinf wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I got this recipe from my grandmother, but we don't use it as a filling; we use it as frosting. You have to beat this for a long time or else it will be grainy. If you use unsalted butter, throw in a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was anything but light and fluffy...more like heavy and lipidy.....My testers, and myself, felt it was very heavy and over powered the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added 2 more cups of icing sugar, improved the taste, then I add cocoa powder and it was perfect for the chocolate cake I made. NICE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used icing sugar, as the other reviewers said it was grainy with white sugar. Took a while to get fluffy, but once it did, it was good. (It WILL look gross for a while, during mixing). Not a strong flavour-will maybe try more vanilla, or try almond extract next time. Overall, a good filling...as long as you don't use white sugar. Next time I will add cocoa powder, to try it as chocolate filling. UPDATE: I tried to make chocolate filling, following the instructions, but adding 1/4 C. Cocoa Powder (Along with the Icing Sugar), and substituting Chocolate Milk for the Evaporated Milk....and what a waste of ingredients!!!! It would only separate...it wouldn't come together at all!!! It slid right off the beaters. Disgusting!! Will never make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This icing recipe is marginal at best. The taste of shortening was overwhelmingly strong in the final product. I attempted to rectify this by adding more sugar, but it didn't seem to make a dfference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolisouci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Capron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I didn't want to rate this seeing as a changed it too much but wanted to share my experience. Since so many complained of the shortening taste I chose increase the butter and decrease the shortening to about a 65/35 ratio as opposed to 50/50. I also used regular sugar which I turned into powder in my mini processor because I wanted the sweetness but not the grainyness. Excellent vanilla is important and I used the white kind which gave me pure white filling. I had some open evaporated milk in the fridge which I think was to old so I used vanilla flavored coffee cream because I didn't want to use milk and that's all I had. The end result was quite nice and I used it to pipe into the center of my blond two bite brownies which sank in the center while cooling. So thanks for the starter recipe. **Update:I made this again and used the evaporated milk called for and I hated it. The flavor from t he evap. milk was overpowering and it made the whole thing very smooth a creamy but not in a good way. I seemed to bring out the greasy shortening taste. I have since lowered my rating from a 4 to a 2 star recipe. Stick to sweetened cream and maybe that will work like the coffee cream did for me the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great, I was worried about the granulated sugar being grainy but after the filling sat for a day it was smooth. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Ok I realize that I am the only on that is going to put a bad reveiw on here but I did not care for this. I followed it to a t and there's way to much shortening. Just as another review said. We even added sugar- not powdered- ground that up in a food processor to not be gritty and it still was terrible. My husband and I didn't enjoy this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States