Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I just made this frosting for the second time. This is the BEST seven minute recipe I've tried. And as a tip ..be sure and use a candy thermometer. Turned out perfect. This frosting is best when eaten the day you make it. Don't be surprised if it gets a crust on the frosting the second day. That is very common with any seven minute frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! Super easy and so yummy. Just the right about of sweetness. I didn't have a thermometer, so I used a glass of ice cold water to test when the sugar/water syrup was ready. Frosting set up nicely on the chocolate cake and tasted heavenly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the second recipe I've tried for seven minute frosting. The first recipe turned out grainy, but this recipe was perfect and easy. I ended up eating all of the extra frosting plain...it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe is the best Seven Minute frosting recipe that I have ever tried. It was raining today, and it still turned out fine. Not grainy at all. Beautiful texture. Not too sweet. I added two tablespoons of Karo Syrup to the sugar mixture as it cooked, but I'm sure it would have been fine without it. I LOVE not having to beat the frosting while it is on the cook top. I'll use this one from now on. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is the best Seven-Minute Frosting recipe I have found! Thank you! I followed the recipe exactly and used a standing mixer - I was surprised at how easy it was to make. The frosting is light, fluffy and perfectly sweet. It spreads beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Wonderfully fluffy & creamy frosting. Tired it on a red velvet cake I made for Valentines Day. My daughter & grandson couldn't stop eating the frosting with a spoon. I think I will try it with some lemon extract to put on a lemon cake. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Made these for a school bake sale, they were a huge hit. Great taste, and looked so beautiful. Very easy to make and to decorate with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best fluffy frosting I have used in 53 years of cooking...This is the 3rd time I have made it and it turned out perfect...I did take the advice of adding the 2 Tbls. white corn syrup, that keeps the frosting soft for the next day..If you are having problems adding the syrup slow the mixer down...And you need to cook the syup to med hard ball stage..242 is soft ball..I use the method of spinning at least a 6 to 7 inch fine thread with the syrup..works every time..Dip a spoon in the syrup and pick it straight up..about 10 inches above the pan..Let the hot syrup drip and when enough drips come off the spoon it will spin a thread..I use the wire whip on the Kitchen aid only to beat the egg whites..remove that and use the open beater when you add the syrup. I set the speed of the mixer at the middle spot on the slide, keeping a nice even beating.Pouring your syrup in a fine stream is good but you have to keep pouring before the syrup cools too much or you will have chunks of hard crystals in your bowl...Dark chocolate cake with this type of frosting won my husbands heart on our first date 45 years ago...I make this for all of our special days..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was amazing! Everyone loved it. I'm not an experienced baker and this was my first time making any type of frosting, but I thought it was easy to prepare and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the better way to make this frosting. It stayed fluffly until gone. It did not get crystally or crusty. NEVER mind Paula Dean. Just follow this recipe - it's worth it. By the way, I did not use a candy themometer and it still turned out. I just used the hard ball in water method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States