Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best fluffy frosting I have used in 53 years of cooking...This is the 3rd time I have made it and it turned out perfect...I did take the advice of adding the 2 Tbls. white corn syrup, that keeps the frosting soft for the next day..If you are having problems adding the syrup slow the mixer down...And you need to cook the syup to med hard ball stage..242 is soft ball..I use the method of spinning at least a 6 to 7 inch fine thread with the syrup..works every time..Dip a spoon in the syrup and pick it straight up..about 10 inches above the pan..Let the hot syrup drip and when enough drips come off the spoon it will spin a thread..I use the wire whip on the Kitchen aid only to beat the egg whites..remove that and use the open beater when you add the syrup. I set the speed of the mixer at the middle spot on the slide, keeping a nice even beating.Pouring your syrup in a fine stream is good but you have to keep pouring before the syrup cools too much or you will have chunks of hard crystals in your bowl...Dark chocolate cake with this type of frosting won my husbands heart on our first date 45 years ago...I make this for all of our special days..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the second recipe I've tried for seven minute frosting. The first recipe turned out grainy, but this recipe was perfect and easy. I ended up eating all of the extra frosting plain...it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I just made this frosting for the second time. This is the BEST seven minute recipe I've tried. And as a tip ..be sure and use a candy thermometer. Turned out perfect. This frosting is best when eaten the day you make it. Don't be surprised if it gets a crust on the frosting the second day. That is very common with any seven minute frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Added 2 Tablespoons of corn syrup as suggested by other reviewers & this frosting was THE BOMB! Fluffy & yummy without being too sweet. The only change I'll make next time is to cook a bit longer so that the frosting will develop a thin "crust" after it cools. My family/friends are begging me to use this as a filling to make copycat Twinkies, Ding Dongs, Suzy Q's....Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
added 2 talbespoons of cornsyrup turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita Mccullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! Super easy and so yummy. Just the right about of sweetness. I didn't have a thermometer, so I used a glass of ice cold water to test when the sugar/water syrup was ready. Frosting set up nicely on the chocolate cake and tasted heavenly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was much easier than I thought it would be - I have never made 7-min frosting before and this turned out easy and tasty. It was VERY sticky however, and was a bit too loose to pipe, but got rave reviews. Not sure if this would be solved if I had boiled the sugar/water longer. Tastes almost exactly like marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have loved seven-minute icing since I was a little girl but I remember my nana making it by mixing while it was on the stove. That made me very nervous so I never tried. Then, I found a recipe that was different but didn't require handmixer and stove at the same time. It didn't turn out well. This one did! It is heaven! My husband who has only liked canned icing (yuk!) in the past, loves this one too! Can't wait to have my daughter taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is just like my mom's receipe she made it for 30 years and we called it Fluffy Icing. My mom added the cornsyrup and a dash of salt to the sugar and water mixture. Also she would add food colouring and peppermint. We always had it on Angel Food cakes and requested it almost every birthday. Her receipe was hard to read so thank you so much for this easier to read version. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was so good -- and pretty easy, too! I tried another recipe like this one w/ similar ingredients that did not work at all - I think the key is the boiling time of the sugar/syrup mix. I added 2 T white corn syrup directly to the sugar water to keep the frosting from getting icky tomorrow. I also added the syrup mix to the meringue super slowly - like over 3 or 4 mins of whipping w/ a hand mixer - and kept whipping for probably 5 mins after that, just to get a frosting consistency. Definitely worth it - it tastes like fluffy marshmallows but goes on cupcakes like icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States