Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the better way to make this frosting. It stayed fluffly until gone. It did not get crystally or crusty. NEVER mind Paula Dean. Just follow this recipe - it's worth it. By the way, I did not use a candy themometer and it still turned out. I just used the hard ball in water method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was amazing! Everyone loved it. I'm not an experienced baker and this was my first time making any type of frosting, but I thought it was easy to prepare and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best fluffy frosting I have used in 53 years of cooking...This is the 3rd time I have made it and it turned out perfect...I did take the advice of adding the 2 Tbls. white corn syrup, that keeps the frosting soft for the next day..If you are having problems adding the syrup slow the mixer down...And you need to cook the syup to med hard ball stage..242 is soft ball..I use the method of spinning at least a 6 to 7 inch fine thread with the syrup..works every time..Dip a spoon in the syrup and pick it straight up..about 10 inches above the pan..Let the hot syrup drip and when enough drips come off the spoon it will spin a thread..I use the wire whip on the Kitchen aid only to beat the egg whites..remove that and use the open beater when you add the syrup. I set the speed of the mixer at the middle spot on the slide, keeping a nice even beating.Pouring your syrup in a fine stream is good but you have to keep pouring before the syrup cools too much or you will have chunks of hard crystals in your bowl...Dark chocolate cake with this type of frosting won my husbands heart on our first date 45 years ago...I make this for all of our special days..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
UPDATE: I made this frosting yesterday and my review at that time is below. Today, however, I'm not as pleased. The frosting became crunchy and it lifts off my cupcakes in one large piece. I ended up "lifting" the frosing off each of my 2 doz cupcakes and had to use store bought frosting since I'm taking them to a gathering tonight. This is fine if you're eating your treat immediately, but wait any longer and you'll have a huge disappointment on your hands. Lowering my rating to 2 stars.**I'm still on the fence with this one. I made the recipe exactly as stated. I used my electric stand mixer so I could do both steps at the same time. As I added the hot sugar mixture, the whip beater splattered some of the mixture around the upper edges of the bowl which quickly hardened. I found that the mixture had alot of sugary crystals at the bottom so I only used the frosting from the middle of the bowl. I had plently but felt I wasted alot due to it being crystalized in some areas. I liked the taste & fluffiness of the frosting but I wasn't pleased with all the crystalized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
WONDERFUL - turned out perfect (and I even halved the recipe.) I have never had luck with seven-minute frosting (or as my grandmother calls it, "sea foam icing"). The double boiler just doesn't work for me. I used my trusted Kitchen Aid and this method, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Royall
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made the "Black Magic Cake" from this site and then started looking around for something sweet to put on it. I looked at all the "Seven Minute" frosting recipes and thought they were just too busy for me to try (I don't have a double boiler and mixing with a bowl on top of a pot just didn't seem safe to me). I read this recipe and it made so much more sense to do it this way rather than the juggling act that the other recipes wanted you to do!! I don't remember ever hearing of this frosting before, but when I tasted it, it brought back some old memories of the frosting that my Mom made so many years ago!. Just about like eating marshmallows. I did put some on the cake that I trimmings and oooooh so wonderful! I hope they like it at the party to night! There is a lot of frosting here. I did a four layer cake and just had enough to cover the whole thing with out having to scrimp. This recipe went into my recipe box already!! Happy Halloween!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe is awesome. So yummy. My mother and I used it to frost my daughter's princess birthday cake (2 bowl cakes stacked with Barb*e stuck in it). We used a candy thermometer and made sure the eggs were near room temp when we started. Not the most dense frosting in the world, but it held up fine for a 3-year old :-) It was stiff enough to make nice dress wrinkles as we frosted the cake. This was SO much better than store-bought frosting (bakery cakes or pre-made tubs)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This recipe did not work out well for me. Never reached stiff peeks even after 30 minutes with hand mixer. It also tasted too sweet, like whipped cream with sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I took the advice from one reviewer and added 2 Tbsp Corn Syrup. Fluffy & delicious...and a hit in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Never reached stiff peaks, even after beating for about 20 minutes using stand mixer. Perhaps the problem was that it rained all day? Made a tasty sauce for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States