Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Added 2 Tablespoons of corn syrup as suggested by other reviewers & this frosting was THE BOMB! Fluffy & yummy without being too sweet. The only change I'll make next time is to cook a bit longer so that the frosting will develop a thin "crust" after it cools. My family/friends are begging me to use this as a filling to make copycat Twinkies, Ding Dongs, Suzy Q's....Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is the BEST frosting! I couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm not so sure but when i made it, it didn't look like frosting and wasn't right i had to throw it away because when i came back and looked the some of the egg whites deflated and i wasn't going to eat raw eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I JUST MADE THIS FROSTING FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT INSTEAD OF THE SAME OLD EVERYDAY FROSTINGS..WOW!!!! THIS WAS A WINNER!!! VERY EASY TO MAKE!!! AND NOT ONLY LOOKED GREAT ON THE CAKE BUT ALSO TASTED FABULOUS!!! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was awesome!!! It tasted just like marshmallow cream. I was out of cream of tartar so I used the same amount of vinegar instead. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This tasted just like Fluff! On bread with peanut butter? Fine, but NOT something I want on my cake. Disappointed that I wasted my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I've never made frosting like this before, it was an adventure! Everyone really liked it, it wasn't too sweet like a lot of frosting can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was so good -- and pretty easy, too! I tried another recipe like this one w/ similar ingredients that did not work at all - I think the key is the boiling time of the sugar/syrup mix. I added 2 T white corn syrup directly to the sugar water to keep the frosting from getting icky tomorrow. I also added the syrup mix to the meringue super slowly - like over 3 or 4 mins of whipping w/ a hand mixer - and kept whipping for probably 5 mins after that, just to get a frosting consistency. Definitely worth it - it tastes like fluffy marshmallows but goes on cupcakes like icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Are ya kiddin me? I've been using a double boiler for years for nothing. I had to boil for much longer than the directions to reach 242. I did add the corn syrup. I started beating the 'cold' eggs (I didn't have time to bring to room temp) on high in a stand mixer at the same that I started the sugar on the stove. Absolutely delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Most excellent. I made as listed on the recipe. I forgot to add the corn syrup as others had suggested. I'm not sure why they were adding it. I did do one thing by mistake but I think it was that mistake that made it great. I accidentally whipped the egg whites and cr. of tarter a little too long and it was way past "foamy" and turning into a meringue before I stopped the mixer. I didn't have to whip the sugar into the whites for very long before it was ready. Everyone raved about it and I will add that 30 servings (for 24 cupcakes is WAY too much :) I now and going to find something to make that I can use the leftover fluff. I put it in a zip lock bag this morning and it's still soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyearwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States