Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe was incredibly easy! The family loves it!! I made this for a spice cake because I was out of confectioner's sugar to make butter cream frosting. This was similar to the 7 minute frosting my grandmother would make for her coconut cakes. I am reviving her coconut cake this Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! This is the first time I've ever made seven-minute frosting. I was going back and forth between this recipe and another one that uses a double boiler w/less steps, but I am sooo glad I tried this one! It was very easy with my stand mixer. The consistency and texture were perfect. I also thought the sweetness was just right too. I can't stand icing that is so sweet it hurts my teeth. This wasn't at all. I thought it was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson City, New York, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Haven't made homemade frosting in over 20 years..and never made 7 minute frosting EVER. This came out so wonderfullly.Made it for a birthday celebration.. don't let it intimidate you..you won't be sorry you tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is just like my mom's receipe she made it for 30 years and we called it Fluffy Icing. My mom added the cornsyrup and a dash of salt to the sugar and water mixture. Also she would add food colouring and peppermint. We always had it on Angel Food cakes and requested it almost every birthday. Her receipe was hard to read so thank you so much for this easier to read version. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
1st time I made this it turned out excellent. I was in a hurry so didn't let whites come to room temperature. The 2nd time I made it, the whites were at room temperature and the frosting took 15 minutes to whip up to soft peaks, not nearly as good as the 1st batch. I'm going to use cool egg whites from now on. Both batches were delicious tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I tried to make this frosting today. I tried 3 times! It burned the first time, it turned into sugar crystals the second time, and the third time I just stopped the cooking at a soft ball stage. I will never make this again as it's too sweet anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe is easy and quick. I added the 2 Tbsp. of corn syrup while sugar n water was heating and had the eggs fluffing with cream of tartar in the mixer. It took about 7-10 minutes total and I had the cake ready to frost when mixture was done. I'm glad too because the frosting was starting to set as I swooped on the last of the icing. Thanks T.O.Home and Pat for the corn syrup trick with details! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Voelk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is it!!! My search is over, I have found the easiest, unmessiest, yummiest, can't mess it up seven minute frosting!! I just couldn't ever make a seven minute frosting without the graininess. I did with this recipe. I did add the 2 T. of corn syrup like someone else said, but not sure it is really needed. Thanks Taste of Home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent, very close to Marshmallow Fluff if I recall correctly! It's not quite as fluffy as the Fluff I remember, but this is excellent as a filling for faux Hostess cupcakes or any other chocolate cake, and is excellent on Graham crackers as a snack. I may try it with some peanut butter in a sandwich too! I wouldn't use it as a frosting personally, but as a filling, between layers, or as a quick snack with graham crackers (with chocolate, s'mores without the hassle!), it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Please try this as a FILLING! :) Used this for filling between cake layers. Made exactly as stated only adding coconut extract for flavor. Turned out perfect. Not necessary to use corn syrup. You must follow the preparation as stated to turn out - no short cuts. You really can't go wrong by following the directions to a "T". Good filling! I'm going to make it again to fill chocolate cupcakes with chocolate glaze - homemade Hostess cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States