Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Added 2 Tablespoons of corn syrup as suggested by other reviewers & this frosting was THE BOMB! Fluffy & yummy without being too sweet. The only change I'll make next time is to cook a bit longer so that the frosting will develop a thin "crust" after it cools. My family/friends are begging me to use this as a filling to make copycat Twinkies, Ding Dongs, Suzy Q's....Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is the BEST frosting! I couldn't stop eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I'm not so sure but when i made it, it didn't look like frosting and wasn't right i had to throw it away because when i came back and looked the some of the egg whites deflated and i wasn't going to eat raw eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I JUST MADE THIS FROSTING FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT INSTEAD OF THE SAME OLD EVERYDAY FROSTINGS..WOW!!!! THIS WAS A WINNER!!! VERY EASY TO MAKE!!! AND NOT ONLY LOOKED GREAT ON THE CAKE BUT ALSO TASTED FABULOUS!!! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was awesome!!! It tasted just like marshmallow cream. I was out of cream of tartar so I used the same amount of vinegar instead. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This tasted just like Fluff! On bread with peanut butter? Fine, but NOT something I want on my cake. Disappointed that I wasted my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I've never made frosting like this before, it was an adventure! Everyone really liked it, it wasn't too sweet like a lot of frosting can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was so good -- and pretty easy, too! I tried another recipe like this one w/ similar ingredients that did not work at all - I think the key is the boiling time of the sugar/syrup mix. I added 2 T white corn syrup directly to the sugar water to keep the frosting from getting icky tomorrow. I also added the syrup mix to the meringue super slowly - like over 3 or 4 mins of whipping w/ a hand mixer - and kept whipping for probably 5 mins after that, just to get a frosting consistency. Definitely worth it - it tastes like fluffy marshmallows but goes on cupcakes like icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Are ya kiddin me? I've been using a double boiler for years for nothing. I had to boil for much longer than the directions to reach 242. I did add the corn syrup. I started beating the 'cold' eggs (I didn't have time to bring to room temp) on high in a stand mixer at the same that I started the sugar on the stove. Absolutely delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Most excellent. I made as listed on the recipe. I forgot to add the corn syrup as others had suggested. I'm not sure why they were adding it. I did do one thing by mistake but I think it was that mistake that made it great. I accidentally whipped the egg whites and cr. of tarter a little too long and it was way past "foamy" and turning into a meringue before I stopped the mixer. I didn't have to whip the sugar into the whites for very long before it was ready. Everyone raved about it and I will add that 30 servings (for 24 cupcakes is WAY too much :) I now and going to find something to make that I can use the leftover fluff. I put it in a zip lock bag this morning and it's still soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States