Fluffy Seven-Minute Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Family favorite- as a kid I loved this frosting on a white layer cake that had sliced bananas between the layers. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigoiris715
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is the easiest frosting I have ever made, the first time for me making a frosting of this type. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I have loved seven-minute icing since I was a little girl but I remember my nana making it by mixing while it was on the stove. That made me very nervous so I never tried. Then, I found a recipe that was different but didn't require handmixer and stove at the same time. It didn't turn out well. This one did! It is heaven! My husband who has only liked canned icing (yuk!) in the past, loves this one too! Can't wait to have my daughter taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by mrhode4741
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
So delicious!!! I just finished frosting my cupcakes and couldn't wait to eat one. It was very much like marshmallow fluff but very good. Super sticky to work with, I tried using a cake decorating bag to frost with and it was very hard to get the stickyness into the bag after the first time, but well worth it. I also added the 2 tbls of corn syrup since I read the other reviews before I made this. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
good frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This turned out to be easy if you follow the directions exactly although it might seem complicated, it actually wasn't at all. One thing that helped me is a tip I read that if you don't stir the sugar mixture as it boils, you won't have the problem with crystals. Although I love the way mine turned out, depending on how it holds up I might have beaten it longer, we'll see. And next time I will use a candy thermometer for peace of mind. Oh, and it was raining cats and dogs and still came out great, this is definately on my list of go to ideas; I had everything I needed in the pantry, which is always awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This whipped up fantastically! It's a nice, soft frosting with a sweet flavor (kind of like marshmallow fluff). The only change I made was to half the vanilla (so only 1/2 tsp. instead of 1 tsp). I also added pink food coloring for valentine's day. Cupcakes looked so cute! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
First time making this frosting or any meringue type frosting for that matter! This was amazing, truley a wonderful frosting that is light, fluffy and easy to make. I did add 2 tbsp of light corn syrup as other reviewers suggested. I do not have a candy thermometer, but I set my timer for 3 1/2 mintes from the exact time the syrup started to boil. Quickly removed from heat and added to the FOAMY egg whites, very slowly and in a tiny constant stream. I dont know if anybody has tried, but I dont think this frosting would be easy to frost a cake or cupcakes after it was completley cooled. I frosted my cupcakes while the frosting was still slightly warm but not cool or hot. I used my kitchen aid mixer for this, I couldnt imagine trying to make this with a hand mixer! Great recipe Will keep and use in place of buttercream (which I HATE making)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i have made this twice now, tastes wonderfully decadent however, it slides off the cake. what am i doing wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It was good, but does anyone know if you can freeze this? There is so much of it, I haven't even used half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States