Fluffy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
OMG, this is the BEST! Something about cream cheese and potatoes is just amazing. Will make it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I thought this recipe was a little bland. I have read many of the reviews that suggested adding other ingredients. This might be a very good base recipe, but I would suggest adding your favorite baked potato toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I added some sour cream too & chives for color. I also did as others & put some cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Really, really tasty. Loved the texture, very fluffy and light - do NOT omit the eggs or flour unless you want a much denser end result. Made no changes except to caramelize the onions before adding to potato mixture. We thought the amount of onion was perfect - others had noted a 'too oniony' taste - maybe caramelizing made the difference. I also used a hand mixer on med-fast for about 4 minutes to get the mixture really high and fluffy and then folded gently into the casserole dish. Yummy! I may take a previous reviewer's advice and add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Via another cooks comment I substituted the cream cheese with sour cream (I didn't have any cream cheese) which works fine but you pretty much get a twice baked potato taste. Add bacon bits and cheddar cheese on top to complete it~ Like many others have said, halve the onions. The full amount is just really super onion-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
GREAT recipe...I added cubed ham into the mix, and some cheddar cheese on top (before adding the french fried onions). Husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
good, but i thnk the fried onions on top made it kinda weird tasting - i put cheddar on top too. it's prob better w/o either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I enjoyed this, but I'll definitely make some changes next time. I'll sauté the onions first so they don't taste so raw, and I'll double the amount of potatoes as some other commenters have suggested. Good recipe though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hapax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We made this the day after Thanksgiving as a way to use up some smashed potatoes. We used a slightly higher potato to egg ratio and scaled up the recipe. The mashed potatoes already had cheddar and bacon in them, but we added some scallions, cooked ham, and a little extra cheddar, and baked it in one of those huge foil turkey pans (also a Thanksgiving leftover!). We used up all the potatoes and the casserole disappeared almost instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was ok. I did use less cream cheese and added little chunks of montery jack, but the onions were a little crunchy inside...which made my kids notice them. The potatoes were kinda runny. It wasn't bad, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States