Fluffy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This sounded so good but as I was making them I was getting very skeptical. I followed the recipe exactly and as I POURED it into the casserole dish I just knew I was going to have a runny mess. Since I am living in Germany right now I have become a huge fan of Gouda cheese so I sprinkled some grated cheese with the onions on top and sprinkled with paprika for presentation. When I took it out of the oven it was beautiful and when we put it in our mouths it was wonderful. It didn't really look or feel like potatoes but was light and fluffy, almost like a potato souffle. My husband and I both agreed this recipe is a keeper. The recipe says serves two but we easily saved enough so we can have another serving tomorrow. Don't be scared off by how it looks before you put it in the oven. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This has been in my recipe box since 1967! It's as tasty now as then. It's great with any roast or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have been making these potatoes for years and my step-mother years before that. My daughters (now in their late 30s) always insist on these potatoes for holiday and other special meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I have 2 words..Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyladee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Tip: Just eat less of this delicious offering if you are worried about calories. Also if you beat the potatoes too much you will release more starch and they will become gooey. So limit the beating of the potato by mixing other ingredients first and folding into the potatoes. Try it and it will be even better. Smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This went over pretty well last night but after reading a few of the reviews I think next time I make it I will have to add some 'extras' to make it a bit better. Even a handful of cheese mixed it probably would have made this a 5 star. Adding some left over pieces of chicken and peas would have made this a a meal. Nice starting point for me to add my own spin on the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Spectacular, so creamy and yummy. We loved this so much, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was good. I omitted the flour and we used sour cream and/or grated cheese when serving. A nice change to plain mashed ptoatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This recipe is a yummy keeper. I loved the texture the fried onions gave. I only had 1 egg on hand but it turned out just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
definately add the flour without it the dish was soupy. I added fresh chives, garlic & ham. I also added cheeseon top along with the fried onions. My husband was raving before it even hit the table & once he tasted it, he told we had to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States