Fluffy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I get requests for this recipe every Thanksgiving, but I've made modifications. I usually double everything except the egg, cream cheese and onion. Even doubling the recipe, I find that half an onion is plenty, even for onion lovers. I've also substituted sour cream for the cream cheese, with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Thank you for making me a star at my Easter Dinner. Everyone loved this dish. I did change a few things, I didn't add the flour. I used flavored cream cheese, green onions, added crumbled bacon. I also put a layer of grated cheddar cheese along with the French Fried Onions on the top of the casserole - too many calories for everyday but absolutely fantastic for a holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
If you want a new taste for mash potatoes this recipe is a winner! I made this recipe three time already, at Thanksgiving a made 10bs and it was all gone, they taste rich and smooth. 5 starr josephine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Oh my....how good was this?! We loved your dish Colleen! I didn't have quite enough cream cheese so I made up the difference with low fat sour cream, however, I did double the potatoes but nothing else. I didn't see the need for the flour or for the onion, ONLY because I felt that the fried onions would work even better not only as the topping but mixed in as well and it did. I added garlic and onion powders to the mix too. This was awesome girl and I thank you for submitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Quick and easy! Light and fluffy! I used leftover Yukon Gold mashed potatoes from Sunday dinner and, following the advice from another reviewer, doubled everything except the cheese (I used Neufchatel), onion and egg. I didn't have fresh onion so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of onion powder which worked great because my kids don't like to see onion. I also didn't put the french onions on the top. I did forget the flour but I don't know that it made a difference. I also added about 1/3 c real bacon chunks. I know that made a difference! My 13-year-old son had thirds! I think it would be good with green onions or a touch of parsley to add color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We made this the day after Thanksgiving as a way to use up some smashed potatoes. We used a slightly higher potato to egg ratio and scaled up the recipe. The mashed potatoes already had cheddar and bacon in them, but we added some scallions, cooked ham, and a little extra cheddar, and baked it in one of those huge foil turkey pans (also a Thanksgiving leftover!). We used up all the potatoes and the casserole disappeared almost instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
What a delightful change from the usual mashed potatoes. I kept everything the same except I doubled the potatoes. I think it would be too cream cheesy with only 2 cups potato. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. However I did modify it slightly. I did not use the chopped onion because I just knew my kids would not like it that way. I double the potatoes and the cream cheese, but left all the other ingredients the same amount. It was very light, fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was good. I omitted the flour and we used sour cream and/or grated cheese when serving. A nice change to plain mashed ptoatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This went over pretty well last night but after reading a few of the reviews I think next time I make it I will have to add some 'extras' to make it a bit better. Even a handful of cheese mixed it probably would have made this a 5 star. Adding some left over pieces of chicken and peas would have made this a a meal. Nice starting point for me to add my own spin on the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States