Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is 3 stars if you make it as written, which I did. But it was very hard to spread, even on a 9 x 13 sheet cake. I couldn't even imagine trying to frost a layer cake with it like this. So, I decided to chalk that cake up to experience and made another. This time I used a heaping cup of Jif peanut butter (probably around 1 1/4 cups), 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and 3 T of heavy cream. I beat the room temperature butter and the room temperature peanut butter for several minutes until I could not see any butter at all in the mixture and it seemed very creamy. Then I gradually added the powdered sugar and when it was well-blended, I added the 3 T of heavy cream and then put it on #6 on my KitchenAid mixer and let it go for 3-4 minutes. This time it was MUCH easier to spread and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
DELICIOUS! This recipe deserves nothing less than 5 stars. Naturally you wouldn't expect any kind of peanut butter frosting to spread as pretty as butter cream and still taste like peanut butter, this is "peanut butter" we're talking about after all. My cake tasted fabulous and looked fabulous. It is not anything like a paste, if you follow the recipe correctly, and add milk "as needed" like it says and whip it long enough, its perfect. Major pet peeve....someone leaving a review when clearly they did not follow the recipe like it is written, how can you review this recipe if you didn't follow it? This went in my GOLDEN RECIPE BOOK. Frosted brownies with it, oh la la, Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1053 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Very easy and nice. However, in order to get a good consistency, all ingredients should be at room temperature. If they get too grainy and hard after u added in 3 tablespoons milk, stop adding. Instead, put ur bowl into microwave on high for 30 sec, take out and stir. This will solve the problem. Great frosting. Very peanut buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This frosting is amazing--it balances flavor against sweetness well, and the texture was perfect: creamy, fluffy, not oily at all. I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written, no alterations necessary. I made sure my butter was softened (not just room temperature) and I used Jiff's Creamy PB with No Added Sugar; the two whipped together beautifully in about a minute (and I just own a bottom-barrel Black & Decker hand-held mixer); then I added the powdered sugar a half-cup at a time, whipping as I went; I made sure to add in 1 Tbl milk between each sugar-addition so that I could judge moisture-spreadability ratio. It kept wonderfully fluffy and spreadable for the hour and a half that I used it, then put the remainder in the fridge. It does harden in the fridge, but gently microwaving it with a tablespoon or two or milk and then stirring returns it to its original malleability. I liked this recipe so well, I made an additional batch substituting Nutella for the peanut butter--it tasted incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
yummy! i've made this several times and everyone loves it on brownies but i can never get it to be "fluffy" even though i follow the recipe and beat it for awhile...and it's usually rather greasy. any suggestions to get it to look like the picture shows?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Make sure you use butter rather than margarine. I've used margarine before and the icing comes out kind of greasy. Butter will give you beautiful, fluffy icing. Also, I add 2 tsp of vanilla when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Great multi-purpose frosting. Worked well for piping too. Had some left over, chilled it rolled it into balls and dipped in melted chocolate. You have to keep them in the fridge but they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
My sister found a box of chocolate cake mix in Mom's pantry today...and decided she needed cupcakes right then! Of course, she didn't look for frosting when she found the cake mix...so we tried this recipe. Holy cow is it good! And so easy! It made a lot of frosting though...too much for a batch of cupcakes. So, I'll have to make brownies later this week! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliskill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Oh my gosh, as I sit here licking the spatula and swiping my finger into the almost empty bowl, thank you, thank you, thank you for this great recipe. I had no problems spreading the icing or mixing it. Other than making half a recipe, which frosted my 13x9 gob cake perfectly, I made it exactly as written. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
So good I used it on the Best Brownie recipe from this site.....AHHHMAZING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States