Fluffy Pancakes with Wheat Germ and Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I used an entire cup of homemade cinnamon applesauce and four eggs, instead of separating out the white and yolks. Flax seed instead of wheat germ and coconut oil instead of canola. My three boys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
The egg whites make the pancakes nice & fluffy. Since other reviewers said "bland", I added 1tbsp butter, roughly 1/2 tsp sugar, salt, vanilla and replaced 1/4 cup of white flour w/ almond and coconut flour. It did need a few tbsp of water as my batter was too thick. The flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
First I have to say I only had egg beaters so I don't know how much that effected the density of these. But, they were very dense and bland. I added more milk to thin them out. I ended up adding splenda, cinnamon, and vanilla and they were still kinda bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I will not be making these agin. They ended up tasting OK and we did enjoy them. So here's why I will not be making these and simply cannot recommend the recipe; 1) the amount of dry to liquid were completely off; I at least doubled the milk its one thing to need to add a splash or two but to have to double the amount is an error in the recipe. 2) It completely lacks seasoning, we added cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and vanilla and they were still on the bland side of flavor (and I like whole wheat/'healthy' food so its not that I'm not used to eating more grainy food). 3) the need for two bowls and beating the egg whites, I figured I would give the recipe a shot but even with the 'soft peaks' added the pancakes were pretty dense, that combined with the additional work is unnecessary. There are some good recipes for wholesome, filling, and yummy pancakes so I just can't be bothered to re-use this one again with the extra work and dishes for a lackluster result. I don't regret trying them but they won't be a repeat. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I wanted to make a special treat (fruit topped pancakes) for my youngest boy for his birthday (and his older brother as well) but I wanted to make it a little healthier than what I'd get at the resteraunt. This recipe was perfect. I used whole wheat white flour instead of unbleached, homemade organic applesauce, vegetable oil and lowfat buttermilk. These turned out fluffy and delicious. I made a low-sugar strawberry topping to put on the top of these and topped off with a small dollop of whipped cream--like the fruit pancakes that we used to get for the boys on their birthday at Sheri's. Quite a bit healthier but the kids never noticed. This made quite a few additional for me to freeze in groups of two to stick in the toaster for busy mornings when the kids still want a hot breakfast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Not a bad start but definately needs some more flavor; maybe a little salt and blueberries or even a few chocolate chips. My 3 older kids ages 10, 8 and 6 did not eat these but my 16 month old did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Delish! I stayed as close as I could to the recipe, though I had to use some vanilla yogurt + water instead of milk (last of the milk was sour--ick!) and white whole wheat flour instead of regular. But the resulting pancakes were delightful! I'll make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Two out of my three kids loved these. I really liked these because of how nutritious they were. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for the recipe. The only thing I will change in the future is adding flavored low fat yogurt to sweeten them up and give them a more kid friendly flavor without sacrificing their nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Fantastic recipe -- my 5 yrs old and husband enjoyed them as much as I did. This will now be a pancake recipe that we will use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were a big hit. My husband is a diabetic & has high blood pressure, so I appreciate that it had no salt or sugar. I used all WW Pastry Flour, halved the recipe, but worked with 2 eggs. I ground up dark brown flax seeds in my coffee grinder and added those in. I totally missed the canola, but we didn't notice. I had added a bit extra applesauce so maybe that took the place. I used more milk because WW seems to soak it up more. I was afraid that I had overbeat my whites because they didn't want to incoorporate for a while. But, the finished product was fantastic! Added walnuts for even more fiber. Great start to the day, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States