Fluffy Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kris
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe has served me well for years. Whenever we have overnight company, everyone insists these are the best pancakes they've ever eaten. For those afraid of sour milk, it is simply a substitute for buttermilk. I use soured milk in every recipe that I have that calls for buttermilk and it works like a charm. It does NOT make things taste sour! Another note: the pancakes will start to "foam up" after you stir them. Resist the urge to stir them again. All those bubbles is what makes them so fluffy. The batter will be very thick and difficult to pour at this point. Also, as others have said, this does not serve 8. In my house, it serves 4 of us. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2749 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I used real buttermilk instead of soured milk and doubled the recipe. I let the batter sit for 10 minutes while my griddle heated up. There were no survivors. We ate every last bit. I served this with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup. EDITED: I use this pancake recipe frequently because it's incredibly easy. Now I make this lactose-free by using lactose-free milk and either melted margerine or vegetable oil in place of the butter. I like to use whole wheat flour off and on but when I do, I always increase the milk by a quarter cup because whole wheat flour tends to soak up the liquids a little more than AP flour. This doubles and triples well as well as freezes/rewarms well. Sometimes, I'll triple the recipe and freeze the leftovers and on busy days, I pop them into the toaster to reheat. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I have made this recipes about 40 times since finding it about 3 mos ago. My daughter won't eat anyone's pancakes but mine! one tip: This morning I forgot to add the butter, and they were better than ever. Lighter, taller, fluffier! Soaked up the syrup and kept its texture! AWESOME! THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1824 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Classic recipe for really "Fluffy" pancakes! I always have buttermilk handy so I used that instead of doing sour milk as I find the real stuff does make a difference. But, if you don't have it on hand the milk/vinegar method is good in a pinch. I added a tsp. of vanilla for good measure, added the wet ingredients to the dry ones and didn't overmix these. Having a few lumps in the batter is a good thing! I let it rest for a few minutes while the frying pan heated up and WOW - they really puffed up nicely! These were perfect topped with butter and REAL maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have been using Alton Brown's pancake mix recipe for the past few years and I didn't think pancakes could get any better. I was wrong!! These are outstanding!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
i followed this recipe exactly and they were great!! they turned out very well the kids gobbled them up no more box mix for me!! thanks for sharing this recipe:-)UPDATE: made these again and they turned out even better this time the only thing i did different was let the milk "sour" a bit longer added a teaspoon of vanilla and sugar just a tip double the recipe as the original does not make too many!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
436 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
New family recipe. They were nice and tender and the ingredients were all in the cupboard. I doubled the recipe also. If this is 8 servings, it is one little pancake for 8 people. Double or triple the recipe for your family. They puffed up while cooking but were not heavy at all but nice and light. Do not overmix these and let them sit for a 1/2 hour after mixing before frying. The batter thickens and is nice. UPDATE: This is still our favorite pancake recipe but tried making these the night before, putting them in the refrigerator and making in the morning. Works great and convenient, especially when you have a busy morning schedule. It deserves 5 with doubling the recipe. Just change the serving size to 16 and it is better for 4-6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This turned out great!! I wanted to add some whole grains to the mix, so I combined 1/2 Cup all-purpose flour with 1/4 Cup each of Oat flour and Kamut flour. I didn't have any white vinegar, so I substituted that with Orange Champagne Vinegar, and used Canola Oil instead of Butter, used Evaporated Cane Juice instead of white sugar and added some Vanilla to the mix. Even with all these changes, they still turned out fluffy and of course delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Amazing. I knew these were going to be fluffy, when the batter was very spongy and bubbled. As I was cooking one pancake at a time I noticed the batter got better and better as it rested, so i'd recommend letting it sit for a few minutes after getting it ready. I didn't have white vinegar so I used white wine vinegar, and I used olive oil instead of butter. Results were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My 12 yr. old was craving pancakes and I had none of the boxed mixes, so I found this and told him to go for it. We loved how fluffy they get! He added a little vanilla and they were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States