Fluffy Instant Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I wish the reviews were posted before I made these!! We must've all gotten this recipe at the same time. These turn out JUST as the other users said. OILY, HEAVY, YUCKY, a waste of time and ingredients! Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I can't believe I actually made this befor looking at the reviews. This was the worse recipe I've ever made,this was to greasy and tasted like a flat oily cake. Don't bother with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I waited until a snow day to try this recipe and I read reviews first. 1/2 c. of flour, 2 eggs (I knew I could add an egg or 2 if I needed) and 3/4 c. of water was what I ended up with. I scooped with a small cookie scoop and I found that the holes flipped on their own. Keeping the oil at low medium heat allowed the holes to cook in about a minute each. I had to move fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I followed the suggestion from one of the reviewers and used one full cup of flour, three eggs and 3/4 cup of water and they came out delicious and i used a Banana supreme cake mix. They aren't as greasy as some people said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I couldn't find the right size cake mix (they must have shrunk 'em!), so I used a 15.25oz one and reduced the recipe to 3 eggs and used 1 cup of buttermilk in place of the water. I kept the flour amount the same and the consistency was perfect. I found them to be wonderfully, sweet, buttery and not too dense. They reminded me of buttermilk drop doughnuts from McKenzie's bakery in New Orleans. Making sure the oil is the right temperature is crucial to get the wonderfully golden, crispy exterior and a moist, tender middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I read the reviews before making these and made the same adjustments: 1 cup flour, 3/4 cup water and 3 eggs. They came out wonderful! I used a box of funfetti cake mix so no additional sugar was needed. I made sure the oil was up to temp before I started dropping them in. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quashema Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It was really easy to make. A little oilly, but not bad over all. And I added cinnamon sugar with the confectioner's dugar and it really tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Used my fry daddy to get the oil hot enough to keep the donuts from absorbing so much oil. I made the recipe as is, but next time, I'll use the 3 egg, 1c flour and 3/4 water suggestion. My oldest liked these with a smathering of Nutella on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Do to the review I made the suggested changes (1c. flour, 3 eggs, 3/4c. water) and they came out great. I was scared as I did not want oil soaked donuts so I used a thermometer to make sure the oil was hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I think the reason people are not liking this is due to their own lack of knowledge on oil temps when frying. When temperature of oil is too low the batter will absorb the oil. I made these just a few minutes ago and they were YUMMY. I did add additional flour, 3 eggs and 3/4 cup water as suggested in earlier review. Thank you for easy recipe for cake donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States