Fluffy Instant Donuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I think the reason people are not liking this is due to their own lack of knowledge on oil temps when frying. When temperature of oil is too low the batter will absorb the oil. I made these just a few minutes ago and they were YUMMY. I did add additional flour, 3 eggs and 3/4 cup water as suggested in earlier review. Thank you for easy recipe for cake donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
did NOT turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
NO STARS BUT WOULD NOT LET ME RATE WITHOUT. There must be a mistake in the recipe. The batter was so thin there was no way to use a scoop to put it in fryer. Added a lot more flour but then they did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
the resipe was good i did the ingredients just as they were and i fried themm for about a 1 minute and they were awsome. also they are a little gooye depending on how long you cook them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I checked out the reviews for this recipe before attempting to make them and made a few adjustments. I changed teh flour to 1 full cup,3 eggs and only 3/4 cup of water. it made a stiffer dough and I was able to roll it out instead of dropping the dough into the oil. I also chilled it for an hour before kneading it on a floured surface then cutting out the donuts. My family loved them and they were gone in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I can't believe I actually made this befor looking at the reviews. This was the worse recipe I've ever made,this was to greasy and tasted like a flat oily cake. Don't bother with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I made the batter up for Sunday morning Breakfast. I decided to try just one small one and fried it up. It was good. I know this is a recipe my boys will enjoy over and over. I used a white cake mix. But I know I will try spice cake and carrot cake mixes. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe. Took only 5 minutes to prepare the batter. After reading the other reviews I would have to say that they were a little oily. I did make a small teaspoon sized one. Having them that small only took about 2 - 3 minutes once the oil was hot. Cook them on medium high. You will want to drain them well. I would put them in a bag of cinnamon sugar and shake well after draining them. I will make this again when wanting to give the boys a quick and easy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I wish the reviews were posted before I made these!! We must've all gotten this recipe at the same time. These turn out JUST as the other users said. OILY, HEAVY, YUCKY, a waste of time and ingredients! Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I did not like these: they were too oily for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Not good at all! I made cupcakes with the rest of the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States