Fluffy Haddock and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum - comfort food at its best. I substituted some salmon fillets for half the haddock, and some prawns - clearing the freezer nicely! We also popped in a handful of sweetcorn and swapped the Emmental for Cheddar, as the fridge dictates. All gobbled up from youngest to eldest, with extra children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is so much like the Fish Pie my granddad used to make. The only change I made was to add a bit of garlic powder to the fish and milk. I served with crusty bread and a big green salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
amazing it looks great i wonder if i could eat it all? im going to try the fillet that sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very nice. We made this tonight and used the cheddar cheese. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Delicious...I used red onions because I was out of green and they worked fine. Cod by itself was also a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline Wood
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I made this recipe with cod, because I had cod in the freezer already and I substituted box spud flakes instead of fresh potatoes because I am trying to get rid of the box stuff. I added a little extra milk and butter to the fish, and then when the fish was done, I just mixed the flakes right into the same pot. Also I grated two medium sized onions and substituted parmesan cheese instead of Emmentaler. It was pretty good, but you'd have to be in a real fish mood for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Easy to make and satisfying meal which is healthier than the usual fish pie. I made half the recipe using smoked haddock, normal onions and mature cheddar cheese. Also added some defrosted frozen peas and spinach, and mushrooms with the milk, fish and onions to make it a full meal to eat at work. Didn't add the creme freche/fromage frais as it would have been too wet(I didn't cook it in the oven): I've frozen the portions and will be reheating it at work in the microwave. Simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum! Great comfort food, and it's like the fish pie my English grandmother makes. I used cheddar instead of Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I substituted cheddar cheese. I also added a can of drained peas before folding in the fish. Served with southern corn cakes, this was just about perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potato_lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't enjoy this recipe enough to want to make it again in the future. I have a ton of recipes that do not require as much work and yield results much tastier; this is quite bland. Also, I recommend adding the milk mixture little by little because I think there was too much milk (results were very runny) and also the method of preparation involving using the same milk you cook the fish in left me tasting way too much "fishy" taste in the final product. I like fish, so long as it doesn't taste like fish. Thanks, anyway. It was worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States