Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Love, Love, Love it! I have tried so many different gluten free cornbread recipe's and this is the best one yet! I even froze the left-overs in foil individually and pulled one out the other day. I ate it myself while cooking, without even warming it up. I'm not even the one on the gluten-free diet but I enjoyed it so much! Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schultz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good basic recipe. I served it with thick beef stew and it was great. Could easily be adapted to add cheese, corn, or buttermilk if you plan on serving alone. I also used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Flour instead of millet and rice flour. I love that the cornbread came out nice and fluffly, but still holds its shape. Gluten free breads and cornbread tend to fall apart, but not this one. I plan on making again and adding applesauce and cinnamon for more of a breakfast type bread. Thanks! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Fantastic and so easy! my kids even loved it! made it with garbonzo flour instead of millet, it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My family and I loved this cornbread. I followed the suggestions of others and used the xanthan gum. Since I wanted a little more cornmeal flavor, I used 1-3/4 cups cornmeal and 1-3/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour. It was moist, not crumbly, and had a very good flavor. Can't stop munching on it! I have missed bread since going gluten free and this really satisfies me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a very dry cornbread, but once you get used to the fact that gluten free is going to be different from a wheat flour product, it's fine! I tried to make my own millet flour. It didn't work well, so I used the millet anyway! I found that I had rice bran instead of rice flour, but it worked well for this! I made this thinner than the recipe by putting it into a 9x13 pan, and it was done in 20 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Wow. Can't even tell it's gluten-free! I also used Bob's Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour instead of the millet and rice flour. Also, I used 1 tsp xanthan gum & 2 tsp baking powder (instead of 1 TBSP/3 tsp of baking powder). Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spic3yL@dy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I followed the advice to use GF all-purpose flour instead of rice flour and millet flour and added 1 teas xantham gum as someone suggested. I also used coarsely-ground cornmeal which we'd gotten from a grist mill and it was terrific. I poured this as a topping on a casserole and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I found this recipe a while back when I thought that I was going to have to go gluten free. It turns out that I didn't need to, but regardless, this is now my go-to cornbread recipe! I love this cornbread!!! The only thing I didn't like was that it often turned out a little too dry and crumbly, but I finally figured out how to fix that thanks to another reviewer - add xanthan gum. I had never used it before and was a little hesitant to add too much. I used 2 1/2 t. baking powder and about 3/4 t. of xanthan gum (which I stirred into the dry ingredients) and voila! Problem solved! It was fluffy but moist and stayed together. Perfect!! Thank you for the recipe and the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Excellent! Delicious! Soft and fluffy! Better than gluteny cornbread :) A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This fluffy GF cornbread tastes just as delicious as a gluten recipe and no one will know the difference. I used Bob's Red Mill GF all purpose flour just like others suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States