Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Well.....I don't like giving negative reviews, but I won't be making this again. It was extremely dry and crumbly. It also made a lot! I've made Jiffy cornbread many times (before gf) and that tiny box makes a square pan, so as I was mixing up this recipe I knew it was way more than that. I used a 9x13 pan and it filled it to at least a 2" depth. Perhaps the larger pan contributed to the dryness, but I was afraid that much batter was going to run right over my square pan. It tasted okay (not great). Fortunately, I have a cornbread salad recipe that calls for crumbled cornbread, and the leftovers (which was most of it) worked well for that, so it wasn't wasted! It obviously worked for most of the other reviewers, so it's worth a try if you're looking for gf cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Came out dry and not fluffy. I am very picky about cornbread and even non-GF versions can be dry and not fluffy. So, if this is the fluffiest I can get out of GF then I'd rather not have it. Sorry, I was really hopeful but it is just a predictable outcome with GF breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This fluffy GF cornbread tastes just as delicious as a gluten recipe and no one will know the difference. I used Bob's Red Mill GF all purpose flour just like others suggested and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My family and I loved this cornbread. I followed the suggestions of others and used the xanthan gum. Since I wanted a little more cornmeal flavor, I used 1-3/4 cups cornmeal and 1-3/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour. It was moist, not crumbly, and had a very good flavor. Can't stop munching on it! I have missed bread since going gluten free and this really satisfies me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I found this recipe a while back when I thought that I was going to have to go gluten free. It turns out that I didn't need to, but regardless, this is now my go-to cornbread recipe! I love this cornbread!!! The only thing I didn't like was that it often turned out a little too dry and crumbly, but I finally figured out how to fix that thanks to another reviewer - add xanthan gum. I had never used it before and was a little hesitant to add too much. I used 2 1/2 t. baking powder and about 3/4 t. of xanthan gum (which I stirred into the dry ingredients) and voila! Problem solved! It was fluffy but moist and stayed together. Perfect!! Thank you for the recipe and the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I followed the advice to use GF all-purpose flour instead of rice flour and millet flour and added 1 teas xantham gum as someone suggested. I also used coarsely-ground cornmeal which we'd gotten from a grist mill and it was terrific. I poured this as a topping on a casserole and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Fantastic and so easy! my kids even loved it! made it with garbonzo flour instead of millet, it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Love, Love, Love it! I have tried so many different gluten free cornbread recipe's and this is the best one yet! I even froze the left-overs in foil individually and pulled one out the other day. I ate it myself while cooking, without even warming it up. I'm not even the one on the gluten-free diet but I enjoyed it so much! Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GFMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe! I made it as described and was amazed how truly bread-like it was. I will definitely make again. Next time, I may try adding more sweetener, likely honey or agave nectar, to up the sweetness a bit as my family tends to like it a bit sweeter. Really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
is a bit drier than traditional cornbread, but that can be remedied by melting butter on top! deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States