Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe is delicious. After reading the reviews, I used 2 cups of Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour. I did not have millet or rice flour in the house. I used 1 tsp xanthan gum and 2 teaspoons of baking powder instead of 1 tablespoon of baking power. I used 1/3 cup of sugar. I like my cornbread a little sweeter. I cooked it in my 10-inch cast iron skillet. I have a relative who is gluten sensitive. I have been experimenting with gluten free recipes. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Just used this recipe to make 6 corn muffins for use with making "Thanksgiving sandwiches" and WOW! Very simple and great result--even when the recipe is cut in half! Future batches I'll reduce the sugar to 2 tablespoons, add fresh thyme and a few cranberries to each muffin for a savory side. Thanks AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
The flavor of the corn bread is good, however, it is WAYYYY too heavy!! I was excited to find a GF recipe for cornbread, but will have to keep looking for the right one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lizton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I agree with the reviewer that said you just have to expect that gluten free is going to be different than the gluten counterparts, and that is true here, too. That being said, I do think this recipe is good for gluten free. The one thing I think I will do next time is double the amount of sugar, if not triple it. I like sweeter cornbread (love the little box mixes, but my tummy doesn't). As it was, I put a few extra tablespoons of sugar in, and I'm glad I did. If I hadn't, I don't think I would have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
The taste was good but it was dry and crumbly. I think increasing the eggs could make it great. Has anyone tried adding more eggs or oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
tried it this afternoon,I doubled the baking powder, used split peas powder/flour instead of millet flour, honey instead of sugar and soya milk instead of water. Took 45 mins, it's heavy but taste delicious, intend to improvise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This recipe was awesome!! I used the gluten free all purpose flour instead of millet and rice flour. My husbanf LOVED it so much he ate 3 big pieces! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Well.....I don't like giving negative reviews, but I won't be making this again. It was extremely dry and crumbly. It also made a lot! I've made Jiffy cornbread many times (before gf) and that tiny box makes a square pan, so as I was mixing up this recipe I knew it was way more than that. I used a 9x13 pan and it filled it to at least a 2" depth. Perhaps the larger pan contributed to the dryness, but I was afraid that much batter was going to run right over my square pan. It tasted okay (not great). Fortunately, I have a cornbread salad recipe that calls for crumbled cornbread, and the leftovers (which was most of it) worked well for that, so it wasn't wasted! It obviously worked for most of the other reviewers, so it's worth a try if you're looking for gf cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Came out dry and not fluffy. I am very picky about cornbread and even non-GF versions can be dry and not fluffy. So, if this is the fluffiest I can get out of GF then I'd rather not have it. Sorry, I was really hopeful but it is just a predictable outcome with GF breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States