Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I love this recipe, and I had been searching for a good French toast recipe for a while. This one is the winner of all those I've tried. We used Texas Toast type bread and it came out delicious. A few notes: You must mix/whisk the egg mixture before dipping new bread in the mixture, because the cinnamon rises to the top and will disappear with your first few slices made if you don't kep mixing as you go. Also, I find that Butter Flavor Crisco works well for frying these; it produces an even golden appearance and when new butter is added to the hot pan as you make successive pieces, it does not burn/get dark like butter or margarine can. (I also use Butter Crisco to make grilled cheese. Sounds weird, maybe, but tastes and looks great.) I also added a little nutmeg to the mixture the second time I made this. The leftover French toast can be stored in the fridge or freezer and reheats well (nice and crispy on the outside) in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1760 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. I made French Toast with this recipe and froze it with wax paper between each slice and it made really quick and easy breakfast for my teenagers, they just tossed them in the microwave and they were as good as freshly made. The milk mixture does need to be stirred up frequently because the flour does tend to settle on the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is the only way I'll make my french toast. It tastes like a restaurant's. The flour is the secret. Instead of adding cinnamon to the batter, I dip the bread, flip, sprinkle with cinnamon, put on the griddle (cinnamon side down), and sprinkle on the other side. I love it with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
We enjoyed the idea and tweaked the recipe a little;we doubled the cinnamon,added 2 pureed bananas and shot of dark rum to the mixture.Grand Marnier works well too.That'll cure what ails ya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Delicious! Every french toast recipe I've ever used turned out soggy, but not this one. I added more cinnamon (1 1/2 tsp total) and an extra tsp. of vanilla. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar. This will be a staple in out house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe got rave reviews from everyone (including my best friend's little 2 year old :-P). The flavor and texture were perfect. I had day old Challah on hand which I was thrilled about, because that's the secret to making perfect French toast. Next time you make these, definitely use Challah and not just any old bread. That's how the restaurants get it so perfect, and that's the secret to making it like they do. Also, let it soak up all the liquid... the more liquid it soaks up, the better it tastes. I'll certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great recipe for french toast! I never thought flour would make a difference - but it thickens up the egg mixture nicely. I doubled the vanilla and added some nutmeg. It turned out nice and crispy. I served it topped with powdered sugar, butter and a healthy dose of maple syrup. Just what my husband needed after shoveling a ton of snow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wow, LOVED this recipe! In reading a LOT of reviews last night, the common theme seemed to be to double the vanilla and the cinnamon so I did, and I also took another reviewer's suggestion and added a Tablespoon of brown sugar, along with the Tablespoon of white sugar. The results were PERFECT!! Just got done eating some for breakfast this morning and had to post a review right away, so good!!! UPDATE (5/30/12): This recipe is now a FAMILY FAVORITE! I use Texas Toast and found that if you triple this recipe, it will make 2 loaves (30 slices) total. I make it this way and then freeze all the slices that don't get eaten at breakfast... would you believe that these taste even BETTER after they've been frozen?? I just pop them in the toaster until they are heated through and they are PERFECT! A great tasty homemade quick breakfast... these are now a staple in our freezer! My kids love to eat these as french toast sticks. After I reheat them, I cut them into 4 or 5 strips and then they dip them in maple syrup. UPDATE (12/19/13): Just when I didn't think this recipe could get any better, I used Kirkland (Costco) brand Cinnamon bread... AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was very very good. The toast was not too soggy, just right. I also tried adding some mashed banana to the second half of what I made and it was perfect as well. :) Enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
The taste was pretty average... I still prefer my usual method/recipe over this. However, I was impressed with the fact that this does come out very fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States