Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
A big hit! I usually make it as written-adding a tad more sugar, vanilla & cinnamon-then sprinkling with powdered sugar. I made it while my brother and sister in law were in town-my BIL is lactose intolerant so I used unsweetened vanilla soy milk in place of the regular milk-all other ingredients were the same. Couldn't tell a difference at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe this morning. It was pretty good. I would prefer less vanilla taste and more cinnamon. Next time I'll increase the cinnamon and decrease the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe has stellar flavor. I was concerned when I saw clumps of cinnamon in the batter, but I stirred it once more and it was amazing. I used ordinary wheat bread, but next time I will try to make homemade bread and cut it thickly. When you dip the bread in the mixture, make sure you saturate it until it is dripping. Since my bread was cut thin, I could used 18 pieces. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I highly recommend this recipe. My husband and daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I too have tried many different recipes and many different breads and it never came out right. I bought Broche Rolls at Trader Joe's at the suggestion of the cashier to try it for this very reason, French Toast and then I looked for a recipe. THIS ONE ROCKS!!! I just made it this morning and added everything according to the recipe and a pinch of nutmeg and it was AWESOME. I am definitely sending this to all my girlfriends to be added to their recipe books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
don't soak the bread too long because it doesn't cook well, i learned that the hard way. mix some ground cinnamon and white sugar, for perfect cinnamon sugar to go on top with some syrup... also I added some strawberries that were soaking in white sugar, it was delicious (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was craving french toast this morning so I came to Allrecipes and found this one at the top of the search results list. I had all the ingredients and the only change I made was adjusting the serving size from 12 to 8. My Fluffy French Toast came out perfect! I only had basic sandwich wheat bread on-hand yet it still turned out wonderful. Next time I will buy really good bread to make it extra special. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reznut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very tasty and easy! I mixed all the dry ingredients and then whisked in the wet ingredients. Just a tip - the alcohol in the vanilla breaks down the cinnamon, therefore, stir the vanilla and cinnamon together (I used a shot glass) thoroughly and add it to the mixture. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Just like mom used to make! I had a craving for French Toast and this hit the spot. It was a nice fluffy toast which is what I'm used to. The only thing I had wished for was more cinnamon flavor. After reading reviews I realized others said the same and added more cinnamon. Should have read reviews first! Also, the picture shows the toast topped with powdered sugar but the recipe doesn't call for it. Don't make this without powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States