Fluffy French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Normally I make my french toast with just egg and milk nothing else. Usually my toast came out kinda flat and flavorless. LOL. Tried this recipe and loved it! I also added some nutmeg to it. Yum! Never thought adding a bit of flour would help make them fluffy. I learned to make french toast from my mom who really didn't experiment a whole lot mostly because of my dad and he's picky. Since I got married 10 years ago I have gotten more "experimental" and tried my own things and have had success. Don't be afraid to add your own thing. I know some reviewers hate on people who change the recipes. There is usually a reason. Most people are looking for a base recipe and then go from there especially after reading reviews on what works for others. I've posted recipes on here myself and I WELCOME people changing my recipes to suit their own tastes. Why be boring? LOL. Anyways great recipe. Thank you Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Used Amish White Bread to make these. Simple recipe and the kidlets love it. Next time I would like to top with blueberries, strawberry slices, and powdered sugar. Probably make again for the first day of school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
A big hit! I usually make it as written-adding a tad more sugar, vanilla & cinnamon-then sprinkling with powdered sugar. I made it while my brother and sister in law were in town-my BIL is lactose intolerant so I used unsweetened vanilla soy milk in place of the regular milk-all other ingredients were the same. Couldn't tell a difference at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe this morning. It was pretty good. I would prefer less vanilla taste and more cinnamon. Next time I'll increase the cinnamon and decrease the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe has stellar flavor. I was concerned when I saw clumps of cinnamon in the batter, but I stirred it once more and it was amazing. I used ordinary wheat bread, but next time I will try to make homemade bread and cut it thickly. When you dip the bread in the mixture, make sure you saturate it until it is dripping. Since my bread was cut thin, I could used 18 pieces. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I highly recommend this recipe. My husband and daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I too have tried many different recipes and many different breads and it never came out right. I bought Broche Rolls at Trader Joe's at the suggestion of the cashier to try it for this very reason, French Toast and then I looked for a recipe. THIS ONE ROCKS!!! I just made it this morning and added everything according to the recipe and a pinch of nutmeg and it was AWESOME. I am definitely sending this to all my girlfriends to be added to their recipe books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
don't soak the bread too long because it doesn't cook well, i learned that the hard way. mix some ground cinnamon and white sugar, for perfect cinnamon sugar to go on top with some syrup... also I added some strawberries that were soaking in white sugar, it was delicious (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was craving french toast this morning so I came to Allrecipes and found this one at the top of the search results list. I had all the ingredients and the only change I made was adjusting the serving size from 12 to 8. My Fluffy French Toast came out perfect! I only had basic sandwich wheat bread on-hand yet it still turned out wonderful. Next time I will buy really good bread to make it extra special. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reznut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,986) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States