Fluffy Creamy Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Forget this one! I am not a fan of shortening based frosting. I was hoping this would be an exception. I was looking for a light chocolate frosting. This frosting had not much chocolate flavor, even as I added, and extra ounce of chocolate. Frosting was light, and as shortening frosting will do it gets a crusty texture, even when cake is stored in a cake container. I will stick to buttercream frosting. Karo syrup works well to get that fluffy and light texture w/o the crusty, shortening flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
*Amazing" chocolate flavor. It is indeed fluffy and creamy, and mine was not gritty at all. Be sure to beat it on your mixer's highest setting and be patient. Eventually you'll have whipped enough air into it that it will be light and delicious. Be forewarned that while it's not especially sweet it is *very* rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Was looking for a chocolate buttercream that was really fluffy and found it! Used butter flavored shortening and added 3 tbsps cocoa powder. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I did use butter but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Perfect! I am going to try no egg and more milk next time. NOTE: I didn't have any powdered milk so I just nixed that and the water and added 3 tbsp of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Fluffy, light and delicious. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
In a pinch, I thought this was a great recipe. While I did use dry milk powder, I think you could've used milk and added until you got a smooth consistency you like. I used softened butter and not "shortening." Needed a white icing, so I skipped the chocolate - very tasty, great consistency, easy to make. Note, I would only add 1/4 confectioner's sugar at a time to mix and add the portions of milk or dry poweder milk+water as needed to keep the dust down and keep a creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Until I added the egg white I really couldn't see how this was creamy at all, but persevere, it does work out. I'm not sure if I used the right ingredient for "shortening", but purchased "Trex" which is a vegetable fat found in the butter section of the supermarket. I must admit, the texture is a little grainy like others have advised, but it still tastes great. It's smooth and soft, but wasn't what I'd describe as "fluffy". It doesn't initially seem too sweet. However, the more you eat, the richer it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I made this recipe and it is true that it is fluffy and creamy. However,I did not like the flavor of the unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have to agree that this frosting was on the gritty side and fell short on flavor. I was going to throw it out but decided to try adding some softened butter and mix the heck out of it. It did help the texture and added a little flavor. I don't think I'll make this again. I have to admit this was fluffy, but I didn't care for the taste that much. I will keep searching for a fluffy chocolate frosting. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States