Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Really nice muffin. Simple and tasty. I replaced all the oil with applesauce. I also substituted some whole wheat flour for the white flour. These are great even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I haven't tried the original, but like others, changed some things to make a little more healthy -- and the group I served them to tonight LOVED them. Thanks for posting the original recipe -- it was a great starting point!!!! I used half all-purpose flour and half high-altitude whole wheat flour (I tried all whole wheat earlier and they were too dense) added a little more cinnamon, plus 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg Used a little less sugar I replaced the oil with nearly a cup of applesauce I added about 1/4 cup of golden raisins I used muffin liners and sprayed them with non-stick spray. I had to cook the muffins about 25 minutes (I don't know if it's because of the altitude 6,000+ or because of applesauce). I used one batch of frosting to do nearly two dozen muffins (don't like it too sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
YUM! i followed the recipe exactly, & i really luved how these turned out! my dad said that they were "dang good", & my mom said she "really liked them". (i made 'em 'cause i had to stop my mom from buying a pack of four from the store, & was buying carrots anyway(she really likes stuff w/ carrots in 'em).(i like to bake alot) ya sure, the pack of four at the store has 4 bigger ones, but this recipe made 12 smaller ones-amount totally makes up for size. i even was able to use my dessert decorator to use to put the icing on them-quite a bit of fun using that thing. i was kinda worried that the icing would be too thick, but luckily it came out fairly nice(out of the decorator). i will SOOO make these again!!!! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergrl_bc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
amazing! i replaced all the oil with applesauce - turned out delicious! very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe is delicious. Right amount of spice. I added rasins and next time I will add nuts because I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
These turned out amazing! I used whole wheat flour for that "healthier" feeling. (good thing since I ate 6 myself) They are great without the icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This makes the best tasting carrot cake ever! The cream cheese icing is a nice addition as well! The recipie was super easy (I made it as a cake as opposed to muffins) I made it twice and everyone loved it each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
i followed the recipe exactly but did not make the frosting. due to the amount of baking soda (or, pehaps due to the baking soda i used being a few years old :S) there was this awful metal taste to the otherwise good muffins. also, the muffins had a strange red tinge to them; again, probably due to the baking soda. but, aside from that, the texture was good as it was light, fluffy, and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julieee
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very, very good, natural carrot muffin. The batter recipe and icing recipe make more than enough. I have small-ish cupcake pans, perfect for typical cupcake liners, and this recipe made 18. I'm glad I didn't double the recipe. I did add 1C chopped walnuts with the carrots, and the batter handled it just fine. The only way to improve this would be a little stronger on the spice(s), if you like them spicier. Our family of 3 is quite pleased. I'm holding onto the recipe and will use this anytime we want carrot muffins. Not heavy at all, but not too light, either. Also, I followed the recipe exactly, and baked for 20 minutes in a weak gas oven.... no problems with the directions. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
These were light and fluffy, exactly like it says! We took these to the cottage, so they were made for a couple days before being eaten -- still as good as always! Everyone loved them. To make storage less of a mess, I put the icing in a ziplock bag, snipped a corner and squeezed icing onto the cupcakes whenever we ate them. Less mess and hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States