Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
fluffy and light but I found they tasted too much of baking soda ( I didn't frost them so maybe that covers the strong baking soda taste). If I make again I will definitely reduce the b. soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Theses were good but a little too oily. I think next time I will do half oil and apple sauce and I will do half white and brown sugar. I also put half carrots/apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolategirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I thought these were pretty good. I used apple sauce instead of oil, all whole wheat flour and only 3/4 cup sugar. They are a very moist and flavorful. My three year old ate 4 (without the frosting) and is now asking for another. I guess that means he approves as well. The frosting is so good that I don't actually care about the muffins. I would eat that stuff slathered on tree bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacer 25
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
So, originally when I made this recipe I forgot the sugar...oops! However, the texture came out wonderfully fluffy and it made a good sort of bread. I made it again the correct way and didn't like the texture as much, though I still enjoyed the taste. I replaced 2/3 of the oil with applesauce for a healthy snack for the kids. They weren't nuts for it, but they did eat some...may add a little of the cream cheese icing to sweeten the deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Delicious recipe! Like a lot of the other reviewers, I used 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 oil, & added chopped walnuts and raisins. Had a mild "metallic" taste also, must be from the baking soda. I'll just omit this the next time I make them. This is definitely a must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pulteney, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I cut the oil and sugar to half, added cranberries and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
the family loved them, they are not to heavy , we will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grimace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
too much baking powder! they taste bad and it leaves a terrible aftertaste. cut it to about 1/2 tsp and it would be a four or five star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Mine just came out of the oven. I used unsweetened applesauce as the oil substitute. The only other change was using 1 cup white flour and the 1/3 cup ww and a sprinkling of nutmeg. They looked great coming out of the oven. They rose well and were completely done in 25 min. Though they are moist, and not dense, there still seems like there's a little lacking without the frosting. But once the cream cheese frosting is on, they taste great. I made one batch of 12 regular muffins and then another batch of 12 mini muffins and the batter gave me 8 additional regular size muffins. One batch of frosting covered 12 reg and 12 mini. The 8 remaining I will freeze. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I just made these muffins (minus the icing) and they are delicious!! Light and fluffy and moist. The only adjustment that I made was dropping the oil (I used Canola) down to 1/2 cup. My 2.5 year old is eating one right now which means they're a hit! Am definitely printing and adding to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States