Fluffy Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Delicious! I made them just as the recipe was written and they turned out great. Will definetely make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Made these for an easter egg hunt party. Nice flavor, but I agree with others that they were a bit oily. I would cut the oil by 1/4 c next time or use apple sauce as suggested by another review. overall a nice little snack for our little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I wanted to rate this recipe higher but unfortunately it has major flaws. I have made it twice, hoping that I had made a mistake the first time but got the same results the 2nd time as well. First of all: too oily (I even used only 3/4c oil). Second problem: bland (I even used extra cinnamon plus 1/2 tsp nutmeg). Third problem: way too much baking soda/powder that left a strong metallic flavor on my mouth. I made these with the intention of not frosting them as I wanted to make them more like muffins than cupcakes. I think some of the flaws of the recipe are masked when you eat the muffins with the frosting but when you eat the muffin on its own, it just doesn't taste right. In fact, it is disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is delicious exactly as written. I finely grated the carrots. The only slight change I made was to skimp on the oil (I only had 2/3 cup left and didn't open another bottle). The muffins are delicious, moist and not too heavy. The frosting is a nice touch. I held some back, colored it orange and green and piped little carrots on top to "fancy' them up. I got 15 nice sized muffins. Thanks for a recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a great recipe. I took some advice and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 cup raisins. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
These muffins turned out wonderfully fluffy and the icing was fine even when I used reduced fat cream cheese. Actually, they were so fluffy that I found them to be remarkably more like cupcakes than any muffins I've ever tasted... Semantics aside, they were delicious and fully deserving of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Inabe, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I was looking for a moist muffin, and this is just what I needed. I made it with 3/4 cup of oil, but the next time I used 2/3 c. and it was better. I might try the applesauce substitute sometime...Delicious without any icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These are very good carrot muffins the first batch didn't even get icing put on and they were gone. I have a juicer and I used the pulp from carrot, apple and pear juice instead of shredded carrots. These were so moist and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I'm not much of a baker, but you can't go wrong with this. Everyone here loved it! I used applesauce in lieu of the oil like others suggested! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written, and it turned out great! The only possible difference I could see was that I put my carrots in the Cuisinart, so they were rather finely chopped, and not "grated." This recipe as written did NOT make 12 cupcakes, however, unless perhaps they were supposed to be jumbo-sized?! I could have gotten at least 24 cupcakes, but didn't have enough frosting (I used my own vanilla frosting recipe)...so I made 12 cupcakes, and put the remainder of the batter into a loaf pan. It baked longer (about 30-35 min), but was delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States