Fluffy Canadian Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I started reading the reviews while beating the egg whites, and I nearly decided to throw the batter out. Sure glad I didn't! I added a tablespoon of sugar to the white's and a dash of salt, and the whole family loved them! And they DID turn out nice and fluffy. Those whose didn't, must have been an operator error? Ain't always the recipe, sometimes it's the cook! Amen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The best pancakes I have ever tasted. Seriously. I have eaten a lot of pancakes at home and at the best diners but never so light and delicious. Plus you don't get the after-brunch-stomach-blues because they're not heavy at all. I agree with other reviewers about adding a tablespoon of sugar, but with a sweet topping adding more is unecessary. About the "too much egg" issue, I assume that some other reviewers didn't beat the egg whites enough. You will know when they are stiff enough when you can turn the bowl upside down and they don't fall down. One really needs an electric beater to make the egg whites stiff or else you'll lose your arm. It is, of course, easy to remove one egg yolk if it floats your boat better. They even taste good after a few hours, while most pancakes turn inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I enjoyed making this recipe. The pancakes were extremly fluffy and had great colour. The only problem is that, using 3 egg yolks made the recipe quite "eggy." I could taste the egg yolks in the pancakes. I would suggest reducing the number of egg yolks to 1 or 2 and using 3 egg whites to maintain the fluffiness of the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Although these are very light and fluffy, as other reviews have said, they are very, very eggy!! If I were to re-name this, I would call it French Toast Pancakes, because that is exactly what it tastes like!! I added 3 tspn. white sugar and 1 tspn. of vanilla. I also added fresh blueberries to half the batter and no matter what, they still tastes too eggy--but I am sure my husband will eat them, he is like Mikey and will eat anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathi from NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I thought this recipe was delightful. I made into more of a dessert than breakfast. I added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/8 cup sugar to the batter. I also added 1/8 cup sugar to the egg whites while beating. They really cooked up light and fluffy. I then topped off the pancakes with blueberry syrup and RediWhip whipped cream. Yummy!!! Thanks very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
really (x 100) good recipe will be normal breakfast in my house. Big hit with the kids! just leave one egg out and isn't eggy at all. Make batter overnight and let it set. Makes it 100% better! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knocknacarra, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! It is true that the recipe does have a slightly 'eggy' taste, but it is very tasty. The results are light and fluffy... and very yummy. I tried saving some batter to use a little later, but the whites seperated. I mixed it up again, but the pancakes were very thin, and not as tasty as the fresh batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe!! I use it all of the time now! Very fluffy as long as you are careful to follow the directions, and fold the batter. I've often added chocolate chips or apple to the batter and it always turns out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I took the advice from the other reviewers and cut back to one egg yolk. I also decided to use my regular boxed all purpose mix. The pancakes came out very fluffy and the end result was yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe may take longer to fix than the regular pancakes.... but, wow, is it worth the extra trouble. You can't make more fluffy pancakes than this and they are melt in your mouth delecious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States