Fluffy Canadian Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Based on others suggestions, used 3 egg whites & only 1 yolk. Not alot of flavor. I suggest using Fluffy Pancakes by kris from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I was thrilled with how fluffy these were! I made them as written, but will add a Tbsp. sugar and a little vanilla next time, as some suggested, for a little more flavor. This is my new pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Definitely to eggy. Nice and fluffy. I haven't tried this yet, but a recipe that I have for waffles separate the 3 eggs also. Maybe adding 2 tbls sugar and 1 tbls of grated lemon rind would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These weren't the greatest. Too much milk or too little flour, the batter was very thin, even with the thick whites. Kids thought it was cook how they puffed up so much while cooking, but were disappointed with how much they fill after cooling just a bit. Hubby thinks they'd be better deep-fat-fried - like a doughnut or funnel cake. I just wasn't thrilled. Will try them again, but will change up the recipe & how we cook them a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My husband is the one who found this recipe. He has been trying to cut back on sugar in his diet and this recipe didn't have any in it, so he tried it out, with great results. The whole family loved these pan cakes. They were light and fluffy with no baking powder bitterness. He did add a little vanilla to the mix. We have also tried them with rice milk instead of the milk as a non-dairy alternative. We have yet to be disappointed. After you pour the batter into the pan add some berries, or apple or banana slices before you flip them. Yummy. Of course, the kids also eat them plain, topped with maple or fruit syrup, peanut butter, or Nutella. I haven't tried this yet, but because they have no sugar you can also top them with savory foods. No we're getting creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
too eggy, not really fluffy, more rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Awesome recipe!...only I agree with other reviews that 1 or 2 egg yolks left out makes the pancakes taste less eggy...with whipped cream various fruits sprinkled with cinnamon...YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I was planning on adding egg whites to my pancakes and found this recipe - a perfect base recipe!! I used buttermilk instead of milk, only 2 yolks and 3 whites, and added 1 tsp sugar and vanilla. I folded in a few fresh blueberries from our farmer's market, then served it with store bought syrup doctored up with vanilla and butter then heated. Decadent and delicious! Stir the least bit you can to keep the air pockets!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I really, I mean really liked this recipe. I doubled the recipe and was using XL eggs, so I did use one less. I had no problem with an eggy flavour. However I did add a bit of sugar, vanilla, and nutmeg per the other reviews. But the consistency was wonderful and they cook up great. You seem to have more wiggle room with the cooking time. I made quite a few and some I cooked quickly and were still done, others sat in the skillet a bit longer and none of them burned. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States