Fluffy Canadian Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I think these are the best pancakes I have ever made! I love the eggy flavor, and the fluffiness is overwhelmingly nostalgic for me of diners back home. I have never understood how pancakes are made fluffy, until now. The beaten egg whites really do the trick, and add great flavor! I always add blueberries to the pancakes while they are cooking in the pan, as per Alton Brown. yum ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
As everyone stated on their review, it did come out very fluffy. However, I tasted something very bitter in the after taste. I put in a tablespoon of baking powder. Was it meant to be a teaspoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
they were light and fluffy but were quite bland. i even added sugar and a little vanilla...it was still missing something. ( I always top my pancakes with butter and syrup) this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness {Doces Americano}

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was a light, fluffy pancake, but I thought it lacked something. Salt? Sugar? It needed a little something, but overall was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very easy. Foolproof & delicious. Kids loved it...especially with mini chocolate chips. I did not add sugar as I was sure syrup would provide enough sweetness. It did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This did not work out for me at all. Flat eggy pancakes with no taste :( I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried the Fluffy Canadian Pancakes with only two egg yolks and an added tablespoon of sugar. Very fluffy - probably the fluffiest I've ever made, but not very flavorful at all. My husband actually used the term "cardboard." Keeping that extra yolk might help, but... I'm just going to go back to using the "Fluffy Pancakes" recipe (the one by Eugene Presley, there's two), modified to beat the egg white for the only egg in the recipe. It's similar to this one, but it has 1/4 c shortening (I use unsalted butter) and I think that makes a lot of difference. Just remember you can beat the egg whites separately in any pancake recipe. You don't have to sacrifice flavor like this recipe seems to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I enjoyed these. They were very fluffy, although like many reviewers said before me, they are a bit eggy. I doubled the recipe but kept it at 3 eggs, and while they were not completely eggy, I could taste the egg more so than the pancake. Still very delightful, next time if I decide to make these, I'll add cinnamon and vanilla so it would be more like french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These were ok for me. My favorite still is the Fluffy Pancake recipe on here. My mom makes a pancake similar to this one and I love them when she makes them but I just don't make them the same way. Could just be because I love my mom's and so my own making of this type will not compare! All said, this is a good recipe so do give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
These were great! My kids loved them! I did taste the "egginess" but that was only towards the last pancake. So I could either omit 1 yolk or try blending better. I will try the latter as I want my kids to have the benefit of the protein from yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 111-120 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States