Fluffy Canadian Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
After seeing many mixed reviews on this recipe, I decided to go ahead with the original recipe to give it a chance and then add other things if it didn't work out. Well.....it didn't work out. As many others said, it was WAY to eggy. I did whip the egg whites to a stiff peak, and regardless it was eggy. I added another (approx) 3/4C flour, 1/2t B. Powder, a couple pinches of salt, as well as sugar & 3/4C milk. With these alterations they were beautiful pancakes!!! But unfortunately I cannot give this a good review based on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Easy to make, beautiful to look at....but didn't pass the family taste test
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Wow! These came out perfect... Threw in some blueberries but actually think they were better without. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I think these are the best pancakes I have ever made! I love the eggy flavor, and the fluffiness is overwhelmingly nostalgic for me of diners back home. I have never understood how pancakes are made fluffy, until now. The beaten egg whites really do the trick, and add great flavor! I always add blueberries to the pancakes while they are cooking in the pan, as per Alton Brown. yum ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
As everyone stated on their review, it did come out very fluffy. However, I tasted something very bitter in the after taste. I put in a tablespoon of baking powder. Was it meant to be a teaspoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
they were light and fluffy but were quite bland. i even added sugar and a little vanilla...it was still missing something. ( I always top my pancakes with butter and syrup) this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness {Doces Americano}

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was a light, fluffy pancake, but I thought it lacked something. Salt? Sugar? It needed a little something, but overall was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very easy. Foolproof & delicious. Kids loved it...especially with mini chocolate chips. I did not add sugar as I was sure syrup would provide enough sweetness. It did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This did not work out for me at all. Flat eggy pancakes with no taste :( I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried the Fluffy Canadian Pancakes with only two egg yolks and an added tablespoon of sugar. Very fluffy - probably the fluffiest I've ever made, but not very flavorful at all. My husband actually used the term "cardboard." Keeping that extra yolk might help, but... I'm just going to go back to using the "Fluffy Pancakes" recipe (the one by Eugene Presley, there's two), modified to beat the egg white for the only egg in the recipe. It's similar to this one, but it has 1/4 c shortening (I use unsalted butter) and I think that makes a lot of difference. Just remember you can beat the egg whites separately in any pancake recipe. You don't have to sacrifice flavor like this recipe seems to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States