Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Got this recipe to try my new doughnut baking pan and first try they were perfect. Texture and taste is excellent. The batter is a little thick so I added two or three tablespoons more milk while mixing. Just finished my second time and added some cocoa powder and again perfect. I am now looking forward to the variations that Jmyslin posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OZBOZ79
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We enjoyed the texture of this donut. It turns out a lot like a regular cake donut. We baked them in a Wilton long john pan. The only thing we didn't like was the nutmeg. Next time we make this recipe, we'll leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This recipe was the best so far I did follow some of the reviews and omitted the cinnamon and used buttermilk instead of milk and used butter instead of shortening. I doubled the recipe and got 2 dozen. Excellent recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rvrctygrrl
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Just tried this recipe straight from my emil inbox. Not a bad cake base for any substitutions or additions you want to do for it. This one kind of reminds me of the old fashioned cake donut Dukin makes or used to make in the 80s. What i did was used a miniature bundt cake pan. What i found is that you need to adjust the bake time to about 18-20 minutes, or until light brown, as mine were still not light golden brown after the 8-10 minutes. You don't need to worry about whether or not you have a donut pan. Just use any pan. Its all good. I don't like the glaze made with water. I prefer mine to be milk based. I wasn't in the mood for the spices, but for the holidays its an excellent blend. I also drizzled the glaze over them as soon as they came out of the oven while they were still warm to allow it to absorb into the donut like they did at Dunkin. (I used to work for them years ago). I plan to try cocoa powder next time instead of these spices and going to try margarine instead of the shortening. Over all, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Murphy5
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
These turned out wonderful! Very light and tasty! I used white whole wheat flour and sour milk, and replaced the shortening with butter. Then baked for 9-10 minutes at 385 degrees. The higher temp seemed to help them bake more fully. I topped them with a crunch topping made of toasted coconut, brown sugar, a little cinnamon and powdered sugar, lightly processed in my food processor. Glaze donuts first, then roll in topping. They looked and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is so good! I followed the suggestion on the first comment to omit the cinnamon and replace the shortening with butter. I also dipped it in melted butter and cinnamon-sugar after it was baked. It was sooo good! It disappeared in minutes before I could even take a picture. Will definitely make this again, and again, and again. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sblasi
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Very easy and tasty! The glaze was the perfect compliment and my girls loved adding their own sprinkles on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
definitely improved with "JMYSLINs'" inputs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devasena Vathyam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Did not have a great consistency, felt rather dense and the taste was average. Used my special donut pans and was hoping for a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was my first donut baking experiment and I thought they were great! I will try using buttermilk next time. My husband loved them and the glaze was simple and the best part! We added pineapple juice to the glaze and it helped make the donut softer as I baked it a minute or so too long. We used a giant donut pan and mini muffin pans. Loved them both! So fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamKrason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States