Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I liked this a lot! Tastes more like cake than greasy doughnut. It was a refreshing change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Okay in a pinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These are incredible! I took the advice of some here and used buttermilk instead of milk and melted butter instead of shortening. I love the way they come out! I put the dough in a gallon-sized plastic bag, cut a tiny corner off and piped them into my donut pan -- much easier to work with the dough that way, and they come out pretty and perfectly round. Instead of the glaze, I dipped them in melted butter and then in a cinnamon-sugar mix -- delish, and the finish gives the donuts a toasty color, like they were fried. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These weren't fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I just made these, and they turned out great! Per the suggestions of some, I used melted butter and buttermilk. I added all the liquids to all the dry ingredients and then blended with a light hand, as you would with muffins, to keep them light and textured. I used a recipe for Krispy Kreme glaze, and that's made a big difference. It's basically the same as this recipe's glaze with melted butter added AND I dipped them in the glaze the second they were out of the pan (or 2 minutes out of oven). That way the glaze gets absorbed into the donut, very lush. I'll be tweaking, but it's a wonderful basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Toughness is caused by overbeating the batter. Solution: Put the flour in a separate bowl and put aside. In a different bowl mix everything but the flour. When you have a nice wet mixture, SLOWLY, gently, pour it into the flour and then GENTLY BLEND it into the flour. DON'T BEAT IT. Use gentle motions to mix it all together. Flour is usually sifted or comes pre-sifted in order to have extra air put into it to cause it to rise light and fluffy. If you add everything immediately to the flour, you will need to beat it pretty hard in order to incorporate those whole eggs, etc., into the flour. If you beat hard, you are eliminating any extra air in the flour and that's why the donuts become tough. The best motion is less motion. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Bad texture, terrible taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great doughnuts! Used 2 tablespoons of melted butter instead of shortening as suggested and baked in the oven using round bun tins (not muffin tins, but the small patty tins)! Turned out great in 10 mins. Brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with caster sugar they tasted great eaten warm. Made 24 in total so going to have the rest for tea spread with choc spread and sprinkles, yummy! Great with a cup of coffee too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Leete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States