Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for posting...I had been looking for a great baked doughtnut recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Reitman Gale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aunt Shelly
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Best baked donut recipe I've found. I followed the advice of another reviewer to use melted butter instead of shortening and to use buttermilk instead of milk. For my glaze I used cream instead of water and only a drop of almond extract. I did half like this, and then added some chopped semisweet chocolate and dipped the rest. Heaven. I had to send them with my boyfriend to his work so that I wouldn't eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These turned out pretty tasty, by themselves I loved the flavor. Not as good as fried up donuts from my favorite shop, but they'll do the trick when I want to make something sweet at home. I'm not really a fan of the glaze though, personally I found it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
after making the first batch I had to check the temperature of the oven since they didnot rise very much. The stated temp in the recipe was 325 degrees for 10 minutes. After checking my other recipes for baked donuts they all used 425 degrees for 10 min. I tried this recipe at 425 degrees for 10 minutes and it worked perfectly. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk, cake flour instead of regular flour and melted butter or margerine instead of shortening. Used cinnamon and nutmeg and half white sugar and half brown sugar. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feldepau
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Looked great, especially for my first time making doughnuts but tasted awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These are good... some people said that they are not donut-like. I think that is just because they are baked, not fried. I baked them in my mini donut maker. I used 1 cup of milk because the batter seemed a little thick. I used butter instead of shortening and I increased it to 3 Tbsp. I also added chocolate shaving to the batter. I frosted them with Nutella and added more chocolate shavings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I took the top reviewer's suggestions and omitted the nutmeg and cinnamon, I used buttermilk ("soured" lactose-free milk, really) and I used two tablespoons melted butter in place of the shortening. Honestly, I made this recipe twice this morning. The first time was unsuccessful because I overfilled the doughnut pans (and honestly, I think that the baking time was too low) and the doughnuts were underdone and kind of gross. The second time, I slowed my roll. I used a tablespoon of batter on each side of the doughnut pan, banged the pan down on the counter a few times (which my mother always taught me to do with cakes, not only to even the batter but to also try to eliminate some of the air bubbles), then I baked them for eight minutes at 425*. The second time they turned out perfect. They're exactly as the title states--fluffy and cake-y. I got 18 muffins out of one recipe. I used my Grandma's Vanilla Glaze for these doughnuts instead of the one called for in this recipe. My husband and kids ate 12 doughnuts all on their own, I sent the other 6 to my aunt's house for her family. This was a good learning experiance for the first time I've ever used a doughnut pan. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I'm not what I would consider to be an advanced baker, so I was skeptical as to if I would be able to pull this one off. I followed the recipe step-by-step and was amazed. I will admit, when I got to the part where I had to "beat" the batter, I was concerned. It seems too sticky and I thought I had messed it up. I couldn't even get the batter to go into my donut pan! It kept sticking to the spoon and my fingers. I tried everything. Eventually I added the batter to a piping bag, and VOILA! These donuts are to die for. I'll never buy another one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These are very good! They taste just like an old-fashioned donut without the grease! ;o) I used a cupcake pan -- 1/4 dough, 2 TBS Strawberry Jam then topped with more dough. YUM!!! Had to increase baking time to 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Just made these as wanted a quirky cupcake topper, these are perfect, very easy to make and perfect size to sit on top of my cupcakes!, I made them on a mini donut tin. They taste much better than I expected too, nice and fluffy and the kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Shields, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States