Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
With a few changes this recipe turned out really well. I followed others suggestions and used buttermilk and melted butter in place of the shortening. I put all the batter into a plastic bag and snipped off a corner to make it easier to pipe into the wells of the pan. I used a donut pan and baked them at 400 degrees F for 8-9 minutes. I let them cool and dunked them into a chocolate frosting I made using 2 TBS melted butter, 2 TBS hot, 2 TBS cocoa powder and about a cup and a forth of powdered sugar. The frosting/glaze will set up quickly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I am 63 and now retired. My wife still works so I am learning how to do the cooking. I tried this recipe, this was easy!! the second time I made this recipe I used Pam Baking Spray on the doughnut pan and not a one stuck to the doughnut pan. My wife wants me to make them again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The taste of these donuts was wonderful, however the texture was not all that great. I found them to be very tough in the end and were much too dense even for cake donuts. If you make these I really would suggest being careful to only mix until the dry ingredients are wet and not anymore. Mixing until "well blended" will only make them hard and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I have to say I wasn't super impressed with these. They turned out kinda like sponge cake which was not what I was going for. My hubby loves donuts and I was wanting to make something more like the heavy cake donuts that Dunkin makes. He said he liked them ok anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
These were yummy and so easy to make! Will be doing these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by TINACABINA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I took the milk out and put buttermilk instead (another reviewer had mentioned doing this), left out the cinnamon and it was great! I received a donut maker for Mother's Day and the recipe that it came with was terrible! So glad that I found this one. I dipped the tops in melted butter when they came out and then dipped them into cinnamon sugar (which is why I left cinnamon out of the actual recipe) right away. I can hardly wait til my daughter gets home from school because she'll be so surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Relatively quick and easy...love that they are baked, not fried. 3 kinds of glaze and the 5 year old has to ask..."but where are the caramel ones?" So like his dad ! Caramel glaze - next week !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Pretty good for baked donuts. :) Made in a mini cupcake pan rather than a donut pan. Makes about 30 mini cupcakes/donut holes. Added a little more powdered sugar to the frosting than what was listed. Would be good dipped in chocolate frosting too! They don't keep as well as traditional donuts though (probably because they're not covered in oil), so plan to eat them with 24-48 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I wish they were a little more fluffy and less dense but everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This makes for a pretty good doughnut. I made mine 3 ways. Chocolate glazed, powdered sugar, and cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States