Fluffy Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening and used melted butter and almond extract to toss them in before tossing in cinnamon sugar. Also, I used mini muffin trays and cooked at 400 for about 8 minutes. They were AMAZING. I'm going to try making them again but healthier, but they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made these as per the recipe...they were dry and not edible, even with the glaze...i would never recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowcat316

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very good. The family loved them. We all tweak the recipe a bit so this is my tweak...Used butter like every one else. Made the soured milk. Increased temp to 375...here's the reason why...I don't have donut pans so I made them in my muffin tins and made sure I only used about half a cup of batter per "doffin" (that is my made up word for half donut half muffin) baked for 12 minutes and dipped in butter then cinnamon sugar...yum. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idleyld Park, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
they were prety good. I wasn't impressed. It was not what I was exspecting. More like muffin donuts not cake.This is just MY oppion my siblings loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm sorry, I just didn't care for the flavor of this recipe. I even tried the altered recipe of the pastry chef and didn't care for the flavor of the doughnut. I just wanted a nice flavorful doughnut. I didn't want to have to add lots of sugar, whether granulated or powered, or coat with a glaze to get any flavor with lots of carbs. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I don't like cake donuts -- I'm a Krispy Kreme girl m'self. So it was with some trepidation that I tried these, and I'm very glad that I did! I halved the recipe just to try it out, and because CHOCOLATE, I used 3/4 C flour and 1/4 C cocoa powder. I also took jmyslin's suggestion and made them in gem pans hit with a shot of Pam; I, too, used butter rather than shortening (HATE shortening!!!), and I used buttermilk in place of milk simply because I had it on hand. I only added a dash of the spices, and I used vanilla instead of almond extract in the glaze. They are nothing like the cake donuts from the bakery, more like a dense cupcake, which is probably why I like them. Once the rest of the world gets tired of their electric donut makers and starts donating them to Goodwill, I'll pick one up for cheap and make "official" donuts with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Great baked doughnut recipe. Very easy and fast. They were gone in seconds. I used a chocolate frosting/glaze. 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 4 Table cocoa, 4 Table milk, 2 teas vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Tastes just like store-bought cake donuts, only better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelsMom1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
With a few changes this recipe turned out really well. I followed others suggestions and used buttermilk and melted butter in place of the shortening. I put all the batter into a plastic bag and snipped off a corner to make it easier to pipe into the wells of the pan. I used a donut pan and baked them at 400 degrees F for 8-9 minutes. I let them cool and dunked them into a chocolate frosting I made using 2 TBS melted butter, 2 TBS hot, 2 TBS cocoa powder and about a cup and a forth of powdered sugar. The frosting/glaze will set up quickly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I am 63 and now retired. My wife still works so I am learning how to do the cooking. I tried this recipe, this was easy!! the second time I made this recipe I used Pam Baking Spray on the doughnut pan and not a one stuck to the doughnut pan. My wife wants me to make them again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States